Garage
Shop

MTX Terminator TN12-04 12” 400 Watt Car Audio Subwoofer+ Atrend 10SQL - Customer Ratings & Reviews



5 star
78%
4 star
18%
3 star
2%
2 star
0%
1 star
2%



Durability
4.6
Value
4.8
Features
4.4
Design
4.7
Usability
4.9

Customer Reviews

Sort by:

Loading...

OK wire if you like red wire

The following review is for BBSW167, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I received this wire because when I bought my Image Dynamics speakers from Sonic the description said it included speaker wire in the box, but when I received them there was none. I called Sonic and they sent this wire to make up for the error. I later called Image Dynamics and found out that they no longer include speaker wire with their speakers so Sonic if you are reading this you can update your description and pictures on the ID speakers to NOT show speaker wire. For the record I bought the Image Dynamics CTX65cs and the CTX4 speaker sets. Great speakers by the way. Thanks Sonic for all your great products and sound advice, no pun intended:)

By T Harris on February 8, 2014

133

found this helpful.

nice sound

The following review is for BBSW167, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

very good product at a pretty good price lowest i could find on net and sounds good

By JAMES on May 17, 2015

102

found this helpful.

Use to purchase this all the time

The following review is for BBSW167, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Belva brand is good affordable material when starting out but through out time cca corrodes if you have the money buy ofc cable

By Anonymous on September 27, 2018

64

found this helpful.

Does the Job

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I put my first sub in and didnt want anything special so i tried out this 12-inch and it provides a nice low end to my usual rock/alternative/electronic music. Its nothing super pumpin but a nice overall sub for those on a budget.

By Nate on November 21, 2012

61

found this helpful.

great deal

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

fast shipping great deal works as well as expected hits pretty hard alot harder than i would of expected from only a 200 watt sub im very happy with my purchase thank you

By bobby on July 4, 2014

57

found this helpful.

awesome

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

MTX makes great speakers. Sealed box with 300 watt max amp.

By Ralph on September 18, 2013

57

found this helpful.

MTX

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great speakers! I'm using them on a pair of MTX home audio speakers that finally went out on me after years of Djing & abuse. The new ones are even better. You can't go wrong with these subs !!!

By Mr. Matt on August 31, 2011

56

found this helpful.

awesome

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

MTX makes great speakers. Sealed box with 300 watt max amp.

By Ralph on September 17, 2013

55

found this helpful.

great

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Had two of these in my 08 impala with a MTX 600w monoblock amp. Great subs, hits hard and sounds great, I have owned several different brands of subs over the years and MTX is by far my favorite

By jarah on February 7, 2011

53

found this helpful.

Good extra fine wire

The following review is for BBSW167, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This is excellent speaker wire. One wire has round insulation while the other has square insulation making it easy to identify hot and grounds. My only installation problem was I didn't order enough. I needed a quantity of 2 just to wire a single cab pickup.

By John on June 1, 2017

51

found this helpful.

Spend a little more for something else

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These subs have a very limited range, very limited power, and just are not worth it. Don't waste your time with this entry level sub, spend a little more a get something decent. Mine is melted already.

By Bone on September 19, 2013

53

found this helpful.

MTX TN-12

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This is a great sub for the price, it was built well and sounds great. I recommend this sub to anyone.

By Jason on January 5, 2012

53

found this helpful.

great

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Clean and great.

By adam on September 22, 2011

51

found this helpful.

Great Product!! Highly recommended!!

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great quality and durability! I have owned it for some time now and I am fully impressed at the level of performance!!!

By Eidey on December 24, 2014

48

found this helpful.

Good wire

The following review is for BBSW167, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This wire is great speaker wire. I like the way it looks and works great.

By Joe on April 8, 2016

46

found this helpful.

Excellent value

The following review is for BBSW167, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

The speaker wire is a good price for the length and gauge.

By Ben on May 15, 2016

48

found this helpful.

Nice box

The following review is for 12SQL, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This is a really nice box. I have a Boston Acoustics G5 in it and it pounds!!! I wanted to save space in trunk by switching to small sealed box instead of the big ported I was using previously. I thought I would be taking a hit in SPL but surprisingly I didn't. Just a gain in SQ. And I gained about 50% more trunk space.

By Dangelo on September 21, 2017 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

37

found this helpful.

It Will pound!

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Sounds great, no problems short of the neighbors feeling me come down the street. It is however slightly bigger than the one I was replacing. Be sure to check the dimensions closely when ordering.

By Matt on December 8, 2011

41

found this helpful.

Good Sub for price

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I would recommend this sub if you're on a budget like i was. For the price these subs can't be beat, but if you like deep powerful bass that you can feel, then these aren't the subs for you. I really can't say much though because i'm powering 2 of them with a Autotek 2 channel class AB amp that only gives the subs 125wrms each. All in all its an okay sub for now.

By Jmac on May 3, 2011

39

found this helpful.

good beginner subs

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I've owned these subs for about 9 months now. They have lasted great through the abuse. Ive had this sub on 3 amps (dont buy kenwood amps), and in two different boxes, one in old lexus, and the new ported one in my ranger. From the beginning i was overpowering these subs by 50 rms a piece. Now, they are being run by a hifonics 1000.d amp at 2 ohms. so in short do these sound good on 750rms, No they really dont, i have to turn my radio to -2 with the gain all the way down on the amp. But i have to say Ive played these subs for at least an hour a day for the past 9 months driving back and forth to school at a excessive level and they still sound very good although they dont want to handle some frequencies now probably my fault though.

Conclussion: great beginner sub but if you want to go to the next level you cant go wrong with re-audio's se series at least that's what ill be upgrading to.

By BigLebowski on February 7, 2012

43

found this helpful.

The best buy in car audio.

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This speaker is one of the best subwoofers ever made. I wont quote spl's or power handling statistics or any other such specification. I will point to the fact that this this speaker has remain virtually unchanged for 25, yes, twenty five years. In fact, I bought my first terminators in 1989. I have purchased at least 20 of these subs from 8-18 inches. The woofer has a natural tone and can accurately reproduce a wide range of bass frequencies. And yes, they can pound out 35Hz notes all day long. You can get maximum spl at around 200 watts rms, but even at 100 watts you can still pound the pavement, so you wont need a huge amp. Box size is very important for this sub. It is good for both ported and sealed boxes, as well as bandpass applications.
The only drawback is that the box size required is larger than a lot of speakers on the market. But in today's economy, this is the best value for your hard earned buck. 25 years proves it.

By Joe on November 23, 2011

41

found this helpful.

Bangin

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This little 12 surprised me. I had a kenwood 12 and this terminator made the Kenwood look bad. I have this sub on a 200 watt pioneer amp and it pushes it to the max. doesnt take many watts to push this sub. i have it in a 2 cubic feet sealed box and it rattles my 1996 Grand Cherokee.

By Jacob on November 11, 2010

39

found this helpful.

The following review is for 12SQL, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I just received two of these boxes today. I put them in my 2017 Chevy Camaro. I have 2 Rockford fosgate P 2's and I have a Rockford fosgate T750X amp pushing them. Have them wired at 1 ohm. Man my system sound so good. If you dont have much trunk space this is the way to go. And the Rockford fosgate setup is amazing.

By Raymond on February 3, 2023 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

33

found this helpful.

Good value

The following review is for 12SQL, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great box for the value. I have a JL 12w6 in it and it sounds amazing. My one issue was the aesthetics, it arrived looking like it needed a bit more carpeting but for the price and sound quality i’ll take it.

By Alex on October 20, 2022 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

33

found this helpful.

Awsome Sub

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I own two of these and I have them in a Orion ported box with a boss 3500 watt amp going to them and they hit really really hard I have 2200 running to them and I have out hit my buddy 3 12's tht he had.

By xNismoxEVOx on December 15, 2010

37

found this helpful.

Nice box

The following review is for 12SQL, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Good quality good solid box sub sounds awesome in this box

By Mike on December 12, 2023 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

32

found this helpful.

Great Box!

The following review is for 12SQL, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have an Alpine Type-X 12" Subwoofer that I had put in a ported box. It sounded great and it hit hard. Problem was that it was taking up to much of my trunk space and I wanted some back so I started searching for a sealed box.
I purchased this box after looking through several reviews of the boxes on Amazon. They appeared to be hit or miss. This box appeared solid and a different sized box from this manufacturer had good reviews so I gave it a try.
The box arrived well packaged and in perfect condition and appeared to be well constructed. The Atrend badge easily unscrews off if you would like to remove it. It had enough room on it that I was able to mount my Eclpise ZA1200 directly on to it. Great box for the price.
Now that I have my sub in the sealed box, I have some more trunk room although I sacrificed some bass (not as loud as it was) but I was expecting that to happen.
It is a great box!

By Martin on July 28, 2017 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

32

found this helpful.

Mtx is great

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This isnt the loudest sub mtx makes. But for this price range of a 12" sub, this is one of the best. Mtx audio takes pride in their audio and builds it for durability as well as quality. So you can plan on any mtx product to last as long as you want it to. And Sonic has the best prices around.

By Audio freak on September 25, 2012

37

found this helpful.

whatever sub

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I bought this at a bundle with a 350w Kenwood amp from sonicelectronix. when i first put them in it hit pretty hard and put out some good clean bass but after only a month of bumpin around it started to have this ugly crackling sound at higher frequencies... wont be getting another one of these. maybe i just pushed it too hard being that it is only a 400 watt sub, even though it was only getting 150w RMS. Ehh.

By Julian on May 22, 2012

38

found this helpful.

great

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have had these for about 3 months and they have over achieved my expectations they are the loudest i have experienced yet and i have not been around competition subs yet so im excited. MTX is the best way to go.

By Trent on February 26, 2012

38

found this helpful.

these pound

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I've had these before but upgraded to L7's in my opinion i think these hit harder and cleaner than my new L7's at lower rms.

By freddie on January 2, 2012

37

found this helpful.

Solid!

The following review is for 12SQL, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I put my older P2D4-12 in this after gluing polyfill to the insides. Hits harder than I remember it hitting before. Attend makes SOLID boxes.
Thank you.

By Sozo on November 11, 2017 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

31

found this helpful.

Purely Awesome

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I was looking for a sub to replace the blown Cerwin Vega in a home theater powered sub I came into. This had the right size, screw holes, wattage and resistance to replace it. It has been fantastic and adds a new level of acoustics to my system. MTX is fantastic, at any price, even the less-expensive end.

By ian on August 13, 2013

34

found this helpful.

Get Em

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Got two of these bad boys in the backseat of my dodge dakota and boy do I thump! Highly recommend mtx subs whether you are a bass novice or expert.

By Waldo on October 23, 2012

34

found this helpful.

Solid product

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I've had this for about a year in a sealed box with a MB Quart Formula series amp. Not going to win any SPL trophies but at the price point its a solid, competent component with good response and sound. No complaints.

By Duane on October 11, 2012

34

found this helpful.

Sound, Performance and Price

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I highly recommend this sub.. When matched with a well built enclosure designed to the right air space and a well matched amplifier this sub pounds out the bass.. Over and above expectation and for a great price..

By Torredo on May 15, 2011

35

found this helpful.

Unbeatable

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Back in 1988 I worked at a stereo shop in New Jersey. A co worker built a rear deck in an Audi to hold 4- 12 inch woofers. He tried several brands that just didn't work. When he installed MTX it was exactly what he wanted. The sound was superb. Since then, I was hooked on MTX.
They are simply unbeatable.

By Willie on March 20, 2015

33

found this helpful.

MTX is the king

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

i bought it 6 months ago and i like it very much such great hearing bass and very nice looking. Very nice choice for sedan cars too good luck with MTX!

By amunia on August 14, 2011

32

found this helpful.

Quality craftsmanship, and a great price!!!

The following review is for 12SQL, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

This Atrend 12SQL is a great box for any budget build. Even though it's listed as medium duty I've sampled various 12" subwoofers in this box with different amplifiers at various power levels and not once did it disappoint. This is a box you can install with little or no modifications and be pleasantly happy with the lows it produces.

By David on June 15, 2023 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

26

found this helpful.

great price

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These subs hit hard I had them in my Toyota Avalon. One thing I would recommend is running them at the recommended amp power...I was running a 1000 rms mtx amp and blew them out..using with the recommended amp power should be fine. Great beginners subs..

By jaime on September 18, 2013

30

found this helpful.

good for the price.

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These aren't bad sub. I think the 150 RMS is underrated by about a 100 watts. These are a beginners sub obviously. Good for rap R&B techno and things along that line but if you listen to metal and you want to hear the definition in the fast bass drum kick, then these aren't the best choice, they are a little sloppy.

By 2ShotTuck on January 24, 2011

32

found this helpful.

C'mon now! Really?

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I had 1 of these in a ported and sealed box. They are nice for the price. Dont really hit lows and are somewhat underrated, maybe by 50-100rms with a clean amp. Good sub for the price

By MikeG602 on April 13, 2011

32

found this helpful.

The following review is for BBSW167, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.
By Jason on January 31, 2024 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

14

found this helpful.

mtx audio

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I think mtx is a good brand and I really like them

By michael on March 7, 2016

14

found this helpful.

mtx 12-04 subwoofers

The following review is for TN12-04, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great product I got 4 12s hooked up in a f250 and it pounds happy with sonic electronics

By Robert on May 8, 2016

14

found this helpful.

The following review is for BBSW167, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.
By Justin on March 30, 2024 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

8

found this helpful.

The following review is for BBSW167, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.
By Charles on April 9, 2024 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

7

found this helpful.

The following review is for BBSW167, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.
By Nick on April 9, 2024 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

7

found this helpful.

The following review is for BBSW167, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.
By Michael on May 17, 2024 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

Save up to 10 different vehicles in your garage

Add vehicle
Loading...
Identify your vehicle and submodel details
  • Owner’s manual
  • Vehicle’s insurance card
  • Vehicle registration
  • Vehicle produced after 2005: Inside driver’s side door
  • Vehicle produced before 2005: Rear passenger doorjamb, glove box, center console, or engine compartment
Car Info Side Door Icon
Vehicle Registration Icon
Vehicle Insurance Icon