Garage
Shop

Massive Audio HIPPOXL122 - Customer Ratings & Reviews



5 star
62%
4 star
23%
3 star
8%
2 star
0%
1 star
8%



Durability
4.4
Value
4.6
Features
4.6
Design
4.7
Usability
4.6

Customer Reviews

Sort by:

Loading...

Nice sub

This bad sub knocks hard you wont be disappointed. Heavy as hell though

By Anonymous on September 11, 2018 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

37

found this helpful.

Good deal

Good bang for the buck this subs slams my only complaint to massive they need to make the speaker wires longer

By William on April 12, 2018

37

found this helpful.

Slaps

I didn't find a lot of subwoofers for the price of the subwoofer you won't be disappointed I just spent thousands on subwoofers that I'm blown in weeks and it had a subwoofer for over 2 years still hitting base really hard spending money don't be cheap get you one

By Broderick on September 22, 2021 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

36

found this helpful.

Massive Audio HIPPOXL122

It was the perfect match for my massive n4 amp and it screams for more all day long

By Anonymous on May 25, 2018

36

found this helpful.

Massive xl122 hippos

Let these babies break in good and you'll get the best bang for your buck I started with some Kenwood's then I moved to some power acoustics mofos now I'm with the hippos One of these 122 hippos is more powerful than the both of the power acoustic mofos I have two hippo XL 122 hooked up to cea rated amps .... I'm running 12000 peak but my gain not even 1/4 and even at low levels every thing shakes .. You can feel your pants vibrate as you walk up to my suv... My Windows shake so bad I turn it down haven't even got a chance to push them yet!!! You are definitely Going to need the big three done If you don't know what that is sonic has a video on it giving you details also you're going to need good size I am running to 50 ferret caps and hi input alternator .... I don't have an extra battery yet but that is my next step because these babies to take some power I am looking forward to my next upgrade though I am addicted to the base and I just got to get bigger and bigger so far these are the best I've had

By David on May 20, 2016 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

36

found this helpful.

Man! They hit

These subs are top quality subs it doesn't matter how many mids you have they will make them inaudible. you won't find a better price than here and boy are they well worth it.

By Terry on April 2, 2018 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

34

found this helpful.

Good value

Good budget spl subwoofer. Needs a large box if you want a better range. Heavy. Seems well built. Rated for 2k rms. Goes into distortion well before that.

By Brad on December 13, 2017

33

found this helpful.

Hits hard. Good value replacement but power hungry.

I am using these to replace 2 bag end subwoofers D12E-1 that I blew running 2000 watts thru them in home theater. So decided to upgrade to a woofer I can throw a lot of power at in the same box. Box volume was 2.88 just shy of recommended 3cu ft, but added acousta stuff to help woofers feel like they are in bigger box. Wired both woofers in series for 8 ohm load, however measures close to 9ohms, since crown k2 amp was only stable to 4 ohms. Basically sends 1650 watts to the pair of woofers in same box in this configuration. A bit of a challenge when you have two dual voice coil 2ohm, Wish had 4 ohm voice coils, but could not think of configuration to get to a 4 ohm load with all those connections. Trade off is less power but better dampening and control. The subs definitely produce some volume and low frequency. However, feel I need more power to get bigger impact--had a couple movie scenes where signal was clipping and amp could not get all the peak power needed. I have two sub boxes with two woofers each wired the same on different amps. Since I am not too concerned with music and more for effects as a home theater subwoofer and the price point, I would buy again.

By Milkman on August 5, 2017 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

32

found this helpful.

great subwoofer

l like very much this subwoofer, sound very deep and clear & clean

By irvin on June 26, 2016 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

31

found this helpful.

Massive Audio HIPPOXL122

This thing rocks it is by far the best speaker I have ever had and for the price you can't get anything else with the same rms power ratings. I have a hifonics Zeus 3200 pushing it and now my neighbors don't like me anymore because they say that they can't hear their TV when I am home

By Anonymous on May 25, 2018 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

29

found this helpful.

great value

great,loudest subwoofer. true rms power.#1 one in the price range.these things shake my whole car.the neighbors hates me.

By SHAWN on April 28, 2016 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

15

found this helpful.

Absolutely junk

I bought one in 2017. Had it running off of a Orion DZ1500 at 1ohm (rated at 1700 watts/14.4 volts) in a 2.5 cubic ft ported box. Had the big 3 done on electrical, 2 yellow top batteries and a 270 amp alt. Sub was broken in over a 4 week period then used like any other 2000 watt RMS sub- ran it hard and after 1 year it blew the coils. This is in the top 3 subs for price I paid and number 1 for how short I used it. I took a gamble on a brand I wasn't familiar with and got screwed. My suggestion is to buy anything else but this brand unless you have money to burn.

By Troy on April 26, 2023 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

12

found this helpful.

Good Sub

This sub is as described massive!!! It weighs about 50lbs and is hard just to get it out the box. I have this beast hooked up to a Hifonics Colossus. I'm not sure if this sub is actually capable of 2000 watts rms as I've blown 1 with a Brutus 2400 watt amp and my current hippos voice coil gets hot and starts to burn. Idk if maybe I.m giving too much power doing the break in period or something else. But even with my colossus with the gain set about 50% and my bass knob turned up about half way this thing slams!!! Btw this is a single set up in a 09 crown vic and system is loud. I will have to run this set up a little longer before I can make a true review.

By ray on April 28, 2016

14

found this helpful.

Save up to 10 different vehicles in your garage

Add vehicle
Loading...
Identify your vehicle and submodel details
  • Owner’s manual
  • Vehicle’s insurance card
  • Vehicle registration
  • Vehicle produced after 2005: Inside driver’s side door
  • Vehicle produced before 2005: Rear passenger doorjamb, glove box, center console, or engine compartment
Car Info Side Door Icon
Vehicle Registration Icon
Vehicle Insurance Icon