Garage
Shop

Metra 99-4000 Dash Kit - Customer Ratings & Reviews



5 star
64%
4 star
18%
3 star
18%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%



Durability
4.3
Value
4.9
Features
4.2
Design
4.3
Usability
4.2

Customer Reviews

Sort by:

Loading...

Didn't work for me

I tried to install this in a 1993 GMC Sonoma (S15). The problem was the stereo was too long. Mind you this was a standard size radio, a Pioneer DEH-P4900ib. I even tried another radio I had but it was the same size. The total length with wires attached (and bent to the side) is about 7 inches, about 1 inch too much. I guess I'll have to try the scosche now since it juts out a bit more. Otherwise the kit looks nice and seems to be made well it's too bad I can't use it.

By MajorSmeg on December 20, 2011

21

found this helpful.

This is a time saver!!!

Pros-Really made the install simple. Con- Fit/finish in a bit off from OEM. A must when going 1.5 din to single din. Pocket comes in very handy, however it would have been better if it had a larger opening. Great to hold remote, usb and aux cables, however it's not even tall enough to fit an Iphone 3gs without the case. Made the install that much easier. Multiple configurations make adjustable to your preferences (pocket on top or below unit). Made of a durable material. Only real complaint is upon installing the radio sleeve and pressing the locking tabs outward, the tabs closest to the pocket cannot fully extend and the sleeve is only secured from 3 sides.

By Sean on November 1, 2011

21

found this helpful.

Metra 9900

I got this for my 02 Silverado, reviews weren't too good,,but I decided to try anyway. Glad I did, perfect fit and easy installation if you're not an idiot. Pocket was enough to hold s3 and remote. Differently recommend.

By Rugratbg1 on October 29, 2013

19

found this helpful.

nice unit clean looking install

Really makes for a good looking install. Instructions are a bit lacking and I used real nuts and bolts to hold it together along with a little glue. Design could have been better but being that it is universal and free can't complain.

By Greg on February 12, 2015

19

found this helpful.

Great radio

Works great in the car. For the price it is worth it.
Just double check on the mounting bracket. The one the website recommended for my car was wrong. Actually needed the other one they had. They sent the second one out to me and everything worked great.

By Rock on October 4, 2014

19

found this helpful.

2002 Camaro required modification..

It wasn't very good for my model, which was included for it I ended up cutting tabs off and getting it to work. Other than that it is a nice little kit

By Adam on June 22, 2014

18

found this helpful.

Radio install kit

This is the second of 3 kits I have ordered from Sonic. They have all fit well and were a great value. This one fit just right in my 1996 Bonneville.

By Danner on September 13, 2012

17

found this helpful.

installed in 1989 corvette

This is a good product but I had to eliminate the storage compartment to use with the stereo I installed. With a little shaving off the front of the storage part it worked nicely.

By David on November 24, 2015

12

found this helpful.

By Russell on September 8, 2023 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

11

found this helpful.

Excellent Choice

If you were like me and unable to find the right hardware for your new radio installation, then this is the right place to look. Assembly is extremely easy and each piece definitely works with whatever specific model car/suv it was designed for. Glad I came here first before buying the wrong kit.

By Plato Sanders on July 6, 2020

11

found this helpful.

Excellent!

It worked very well in my application that was listed. I have no complaints, it was as described. Thank you!

By Anonymous on November 24, 2018 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

2

found this helpful.

Save up to 10 different vehicles in your garage

Add vehicle
Loading...
Identify your vehicle and submodel details
  • Owner’s manual
  • Vehicle’s insurance card
  • Vehicle registration
  • Vehicle produced after 2005: Inside driver’s side door
  • Vehicle produced before 2005: Rear passenger doorjamb, glove box, center console, or engine compartment
Car Info Side Door Icon
Vehicle Registration Icon
Vehicle Insurance Icon