Showing 17 reviews for PAC IR-X

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
82%
4 Star
18%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
steve

antioch, ca

Overall
works great and solved my problems

September 17, 2013

In a word, exceptional. Works perfectly in my classic truck with hidden cd player.

48 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

skidootnt

Canada

Overall
PAC IR-X reciew

March 12, 2013

Great product that works reliably.Easy to install and use. Solved my stereo location issue.

48 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Karl

France

Overall
Good product

August 24, 2012

Was looking for a simple IR repeater. Ordered PAC IR-X to control a modern radio hidden in the glove box of my 1966 Mustang. Works perfectly with my JVC remote/radio even on sunny days with the convertible top off.

47 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

blknight88

Placentia, CA

Overall
Works fairly well

August 31, 2012

Allows my stereo to be hidden under dash and have the remote sill work. It works fairly well at controlling my stereo, the only time it has trouble is when there is a lot of sunlight.

46 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Ted

Birmingham, Alabama

Overall
Cool product for a reasonable price

August 28, 2012

I used the PAC IR-X so I could hide a modern stereo in the glove box of my otherwise original 1965 Mustang Convertible. You would never know the stereo or the remote are in the car. Very simple to install and operate.

41 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jkjr456

fresno ca

Overall
PAC IR-X

July 28, 2011

This product works well. I was able to place the receiver behind the dashboard and control my head unit located in the glove box!

Would definitely recommend this unit to control hidden equipment in your car!

43 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Cody

Panama city florida

Overall
Pretty cool item

February 13, 2014

I own a 1957 chevy truck and wanted to keep the dash looking stock with a radio delete plate. I had a sony stereo with bluetooth for my head unit. I mounted the stereo under the seat and ran the eye out to the steering wheel. I glued thin a thin magnet to the back of the stereo remote and it sticks to the dash pointing at the eye so i can control the radio. Not seeing the stereo is not a problem since i stream music from my phone. The only con to the product is the power box should be on the stereo end of the cable. I did not like having to find a spot behind the dash for the box and the wiring. If the box is by the stereo, the the power and ground can come from the stereo wiring harnes. Instead you only hace like 16 inches of wire to place where the remote can see it.

42 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tom, B.....

brookfield, il

Overall
Works awesome

September 17, 2013

this has to be positioned properly to get the best out of it, other than that this is awesome and glad i got it.....

42 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joe

San Diego, CA

Overall
Great piece of equipment!

July 17, 2013

I drive a classic car, with the original radio in the dash. The IR-X lets me hide a modern stereo out of sight and control it with the remote. Installation was very easy, too.

41 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

BKIN10SECS

Orlando, Fl.

Overall
Works as advertised!!!!!

December 17, 2012

Simple install....worked as advertised....highly recommended....well worth the price.

40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Ryan671

Fresno, CA

Overall
The right solution for my situation

February 6, 2012

I have owned this product for about 6 months now. I used it on my boat to control the stereo from the front of the boat, while the stereo is at the back of the boat. The IR receiver and transmitters are very small, and most people do not even see them. This device allows me to adjust volume, skip, and the rest of the functions my remote normally does from anywhere on my boat. I no longer have to "see" the head unit. The head unit is safe from the elements!

41 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jay

Orlando, Fl.

Overall
Works as stated

June 22, 2012

Total installation time was around 30 mins. Once you get your sensor positioning correct (one sensor needs to be positioned to receive the signal from your remote, the second sensor takes the place of that remote so you need to have it mounted in front of and pointed towards your head unit.) she worked all of the remote functions flawlessly. Had my head unit mounted in my glove compartment, no need to open the glove compartment door anymore to operate my radio.

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Pontiac Pete

Gladstone, MO

Overall
Stelth Tunability!!!

December 26, 2011

Everything hidden, nothing visible! Easy install, easy wiring. Great product!!!

35 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Kevin

Smiths Station, AL

Overall
PAC IR-X

January 23, 2017

I own a 1968 Chevrolet ss396 El Camino. While not extremely rare (5,193 built) it has its existing AM radio. It works and was fine for the first year or three I have owned it. I installed a modern Bluetooth radio inside the glove box. Old cars have metal glove box doors that the vf signal will not pass thru for the remote operation. Using the PAC IR-X unit I am able to use the remote without opening the door. Keep my original super sport looking all original inside

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jim

Las Vegas, Nevade

Overall
Great value!

September 30, 2016

This little unit is great when you want to hide your stereo unit and still use the remote! Easy hook up.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

John

Phoenix, AZ

Verified Purchase
Overall
Works as planned, but be careful

September 19, 2016

This worked fine when installed. Then, I decided to zip tie the receiver "eye" in place and ended up crushing the wires, so it stopped working. Be very careful on installation. There appear to be 3 wires going into the eye and they are somewhat fragile. Otherwise, it works as planned.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Foresight

Australia

Verified Purchase
Overall
PAC IR-X in a classic mustang

January 3, 2016

I used the PAC IR-X to allow my remote control signal to be sent to a head unit which is located in the trunk. My only criticism is the sensor wire should be longer to allow more flexibility in the position of the sensor relative the the main unit. Other than that the emitter wire is very long and the unit works very reliably. I am more than happy with the unit.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?