Garage
Shop

Pioneer TS-A878 - Customer Ratings & Reviews



5 star
78%
4 star
19%
3 star
4%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%



Durability
4.7
Value
4.9
Features
4.7
Design
4.7
Usability
4.5

Customer Reviews

Sort by:

Loading...

Awesome

These tiny speakers will get loud. The tweeters are outstanding. I had the radio on 60 and they sounded great with no distortion. Easy mounting process in a 84 Chevrolet which was very helpful. I would recommend this product and website to anyone.

By cody on March 8, 2012

71

found this helpful.

Awesome quality!

I would recommend this product to anyone. I have an FJ Cruiser and i replaced my stock 2' speakers in the front and rear of the car. The sound quality is superb compared to the stocks. I just recently bought a pioneer double-din system which brings out the rich crisp sounds from these speakers. They hit the highs well and still give off a good amount of mid range sounds.

By Mitch on May 11, 2012

69

found this helpful.

Great Buy!

Very loud and clear for their size. Recommend these for anyone looking for quality sound from a custom fit.

By Michael on January 27, 2010

70

found this helpful.

Great!!!

The sound was great after a very tough installation! Going into a 1986 Monte Carlo SS Dash. They were the only speakers you could get into this dash board (barely). But it was worth the time and money. Nice crisp sound for speakers!!!

By Danno2020 on November 24, 2010

69

found this helpful.

AWESOME!!!!

The clearest speakers i have ever owned. They performed great and would recommend this speaker to anyone that needs this custom fit.

By Matt on December 31, 2005

70

found this helpful.

What a speakers!

The reason why I bought these speakers are the reviews. Boy, they were right. I'm hearing music instruments that weren't present in my stock speakers. It has good detail, the mids were improved and the highs are crisp but not too bright. Most of all, it raises my soundstage big time. The crashes of the cymbals were so distinct, and the vocals are clearer than my stock speakers. I even know some of the lyrics on Van Halen's I'll Wait and Jimi Hendrix's Foxy Lady. These little magics are powered by a pioneer DEH-6300UB head unit. I have Kicker speaker up front, Rockford Fosgate in the rear and Sound Ordnance sub to complete my system. Don't be fooled by its low price. These are one of the best bang for the buck speakers! Couldn't be happier!

By Bill on August 12, 2012

64

found this helpful.

Surprisingly good speakers for not much $$$$

About 5 years ago I replaced the factory speakers in my 02 Envoy with Infinity reference speakers. The truck has the factory Bose system which sounded very nice, but I knew it could sound better with some aftermarket speakers. The Infinity's were a great upgrade and fit my budget, although I find them to be too bright. About 6 months ago one of the dash speakers developed a rattle, and I decided to replace them. After doing a bunch of research - and reading reviews, I decided to try the Pioneer TS-A878. I figured if they weren't any good I'd be out less than $50, so what-the-heck. At first I was a little disappointed because the speakers sounded flat, but then I played with the stereo's equalizer and WOW the speakers came alive! The lower mids and midrange sounds great, with voices and guitars sounding very clear. The soundstage has nice depth and I hear things in the music I didn't hear before. I like these speaker so much that I plan on replacing the Infinity reference components in the rear door with Pioneer components sometime in the near future.
In conclusion, I couldn't be happier and feel these speakers are MUCH better than their $45 price would let you to believe. Maybe more expensive speaker would sound better but I like getting value from the things I buy, and these speakers hit the mark for me. They sound GREAT! I've only had them 6 months so I really can't comment on their long term durability, but so far I haven't had a single problem even when driving them hard so I gave them 5 stars.

By Tom on August 8, 2010

65

found this helpful.

Great sound

This speaker is very crisp and clear sounding, they are a great addition for any system. Very happy with them!

By mike on March 19, 2010

65

found this helpful.

Good speakers

For the price , I like pioneer speaker it great product
Sound pretty good and clear

By Gabrieljfr on July 26, 2014

62

found this helpful.

PIONEER TS-A878

Good replacement front speakers for my 87 monte carlo ss restoration project...Although i did wait until i replaced the windshield to install them..... Not enough room between the dash & windshield to squeeze them in with out breaking something...Much easier to work with the windshield installer..They pulled the glass & allowed me to install the speakers at their shop before installing the new windshield

By DAVE on January 21, 2013

63

found this helpful.

good budget speakers

Great speakers. Magnet very large. Did not fit into factory hole very well.

By jerry on November 22, 2013

56

found this helpful.

Holy Clean Sounding Little Speakers!

For a custom fitment, look no further than these little devils. Holy cow are they clean sounding! With their small size, bass isn't their strong suit but their mids and highs are killer. So crisp, not too bright, good snap, and they fit great in place of the factory dash speakers on second generation Volkswagens. Pioneer does not get enough credit for their speakers, and these are yet another reason why I say that.

By Thrasher Chad on August 15, 2011

56

found this helpful.

im a believer

i had 4 pioneer 6x9s 4ways in my back dash, no front stage. alll my sound was behind me. did sum research and got pioneer 3 1/2 for my front dash. and wow they sounded nice, didnt want that 1 inch speaker hanging in my face, super tacky. my install makes my pioneers look factory but sound like a concert. i have a old mtx 4160 on them, 4 ohm for front and 2 ohm for back. doesnt get hot and just the right amount of power. thinking of switchn to a f300 alpine to match my m1000s. shruggs gud speakers

By durdeydolla on January 17, 2013

55

found this helpful.

Just what I needed

I added this speaker to finish my mids and highs. I only needed 1 because I'm using the factory head unit to run the mids and highs and my "premium" factory setup had a single 3 1/2 speaker on the dash I guess as a center channel speaker. I didn't want to spend too much since I'm only using one of them. Much better adding this Pioneer. It blends in nicely with my JBL 6 1/2 GTO 3-ways in the doors. I like that it has the bass blocker built in because some do not.

By Craig on July 19, 2014

53

found this helpful.

Front in dash speakers

They are a perfect fit for my dash for my project truck they sound great also.

By Jimmie on April 4, 2014

52

found this helpful.

good fitment

had to cut a bit to fit the magnet in. Good output from a headunit w/ a clean signal. Great speakers for the price!

By Robert on September 9, 2013

52

found this helpful.

Clean & Clear

These are the greatest little speakers, affordable yet great quality. Don't expect much bass (of course they're small) but on the higher end they are great for the price.

By Edtotheward on June 15, 2014

48

found this helpful.

pioneer 3.5 speakers

Bought these to go in my challenger in the dash, not too many 3.5s will fit a challenger without cutting something.

By Artie on April 14, 2014

50

found this helpful.

Works well

I bought this set of small speakers to use as the rear speakers in a Mazda Miata which came without those speakers. These speakers were the correct size to fit in the very constrained space behind the seats and were fitted onto a structure mounted bracket purchased from Mazda. Everything went together OK although these speakers were a tad too large but were able to fit in the tiny space provided. Since the noise inside this convertible car is pretty high, the speakers provide a much needed addition to the sound system.

By Lester on February 6, 2015

47

found this helpful.

Great Price and value!

I purchased these speakers to replace the original front dash speakers in my '86 Buick T Type. They work fine and I am pleased with how they sound. The only thing that I need to mention is that I had to mount them under the dash panel instead of on top like the originals. Reason being is that the tweeter is slightly raised in the middle and not flush all the way across like the factory ones. It keeps the dash/speaker cover from mounting back in place properly if it is mounted back on top. Not a big deal.

By Turbo Buick on January 19, 2015

47

found this helpful.

Awesome product

Very easy to hook up and use. Crisp, clear sound and at a great price!

By Prater346 on March 20, 2015

44

found this helpful.

Perfect Fit!

I bought the speakers to replace the front speakers on my 1999 CR-V. They fit perfectly and sound great! I will be ordering in the future.

By Bill on April 12, 2022 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

24

found this helpful.

Perfect fit

Used these to replace a single 6x9 in the dash of my Camaro.

By Anonymous on August 16, 2018

24

found this helpful.

Just so-so

Better than factory, but not by much. These little speakers are a low budget upgrade, but I should have spent a little more and gotten the JBL's. I'm a little disappointed, but for the money, they'll work. And since I threw out the box and packaging, I'm stuck with them.

By Brandon on August 10, 2017 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

24

found this helpful.

Pioneer Speakers

Very good speakers and very good price. I would recommend this product to anyone.

By Boots on August 1, 2017 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

24

found this helpful.

Major modification to fit in a 1999-2004 Grand Cherokee

WOW... what a PITA to get these mounted. I had to use a X-Tool saw to cut off the outside mount for the original speakers which are 1/2 the size of these. Then I had to cut the dash on the rear side of the dash so they would screw down to the remaining mount and allow the speaker to sit flat. When I tightened the speaker both mounting tabs cracked so I hope they don't start rattling around... They sound great but I wouldn't recommend them for this SUV.

By CoMaddMax on December 22, 2015 Checkmark Icon Verified purchase

25

found this helpful.

Best Money Spent Good Value!

The Pioneer TS-A878 speakers were easy to install and have added to the stereo/surround sound listening experience in my Mazda CX-5. I found that in my experience that replacing all six speakers in my Mazda CX-5 touring model with Pioneer Speakers Products made my Stock Stereo System Sound Quality went from a 4 to a 9 out of 10 for me.

By Marmont on October 22, 2016

22

found this helpful.

Save up to 10 different vehicles in your garage

Add vehicle
Loading...
Identify your vehicle and submodel details
  • Owner’s manual
  • Vehicle’s insurance card
  • Vehicle registration
  • Vehicle produced after 2005: Inside driver’s side door
  • Vehicle produced before 2005: Rear passenger doorjamb, glove box, center console, or engine compartment
Car Info Side Door Icon
Vehicle Registration Icon
Vehicle Insurance Icon