Showing 12 reviews for Planet Audio P9759B

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
50%
4 Star
33%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
17%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
mitchel

birdsboro, PA

Overall
good value for a low price

March 3, 2015

this works very good, easy to use and pretty much just a basic radio. would be better if there was more customization to it like backgrounds and themes along with more settings for your sound but for the price its good. bluetooth works great also.

43 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Thomas

Prospect, Ohio

Overall
Great Value

May 31, 2015

Product is of a higher quality than expected. Has excellent sound and love all the features.

37 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bill

Beale afb, CA

Overall
Great product

April 30, 2015

The reason I recommend this product is because the prices are great and good quality as well and love the sound and screen and the quality of the video when playing DVDs in it amazing for the sound it puts out as well great qaulity!

34 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Smitty

Umatilla, FL

Verified Purchase
Overall
Better than expected!

July 9, 2015

Let me start by saying this was a long thought out process to purchase this unit, or go with a higher dollar one. Mainly I was after the bluetooth connect to play music, and use hands free with calls. The ONLY thing that is a little off is that the mic for the BT hands free for calls is the mic is in the face plate. When I use it to make a call I must roll up my windows, turn down the A/C from full blast so people can hear me, even tho I will not deduct any stars for this as I knew it was a possible problem to happen going into my purchase. NOW that said, I love it! The unit is nice and classy looking even with the screen closed it looks sharp and clean, I get to play any DVD I got home made, or store bought no problems at all, MP3 and Video over the SD card are flawless no issues at all, I did find that others that make a review with their old radios getting better reception I had this problem, found it to be my antenna connections fault not this unit, I get way better clearer reception now compared the the MEGA BUCK UNIT this replaced. I am grabbing stations now I never could before, the end of my antenna to radio connection was very sloppy, looking at the pins on the antenna end I noticed over time, and probably due to the MEGA BUCK UNIT plug hole these were crushed in, so I took a small flat blade screw driver and pulled them out more to get a tighter more positive connection and voila! it was perfect. All in all I am so happy I did not spend more and can not wait to get a couple of amps, a sub, and a crossover to put behind this unit I am sure I will be amazed and most pleased again when I do so. If you are thinking on a budget, here you can not go wrong! This was installed in a 97 Dodge RAM 1500 with the Infinity Speakers and remember if you have a stereo in your vehicle from factory with AMPs on the speakers or stand alone you MUST hook the Blue Signal Wire back up! Or your speakers will sound like garbage. Once again SonicElectronix has really hit it out of the park they have had me as a loyal customer since 2012 and will continue to have me. Thanks Sonic!

32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Lenny

Hagerstown, MD

Overall
nice system

August 8, 2015

i like the system the only thing i cant get it to lock to my SWC on my suzuki other than that great

21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joel

Baton Rouge, LA

Overall
Great value

April 3, 2016

This product works very well . The only problem I have with it you going have to read the instructions . The unit is not user friendly. But overall I would buy anytime.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Guadalupe

Weslaco, TX

Overall
Love It!

March 28, 2016

This stereo has a ton of features!! I'm still learning new ones! I specially love the Bluetooth streaming capability not to mentin video playback. Clear sound as well. I used to have my amp connected from factory stereo and wires but the statis noise was driving me nuts! So wit just a few bucks i upgraded big time!! Now I can stream Pandora and other apps! Sounds much better than factory too!

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jared

Greenwich, OH

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great value!

March 15, 2018

I would recommend this head unit to anyone looking for a flip out touch screen head unit. I have had it installed for about a month and have had no issues so far. The Bluetooth works great, the touch screen is accurate and reads touch well. There is a subwoofer frequency setting and volume setting which I do appreciate for better control of my subs. Also, I’m not sure if you can put custom wallpapers, but I do like that there are three on there already to chose from.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jaci

Chillicothe, OH

Overall
Waste of money

February 21, 2017

When I bought this there were no reviews, so it was a total shot in the dark. However I have had other planet audio items over the years that were great so I figured it would be fine. Over the past year mine has completely failed. Within the first two months the screen stopped working, it will open and close but it is just a blank black screen. The sound quality is not that great, other reviewers seem to have loved it though. I replaced my eleven year old stock radio with this and honestly the stock sounded better. I wanted to be able to watch movies with my daughter though so I kept it. That plan didn't last long, you can only watch movies at night as the screen is so dark even with heavily tinted windows we still could not see. Not that it was a problem long either as it stopped reading dvds. New ones, old ones, none of them worked. Then the static started. My suv has great suspension, this radio has not been jostled around or abused an any way. Even on the few occasions kids are not with me in the car I still drive very gently, I baby my car. However if you hit the smallest bump the face plate loosens just enough to make this god awful static noise. But again this problem didn't last long, now the face plate just falls off instead. I do not remove my face plate when I park, in fact other than install I had never removed the face plate until it started messing up. The remote worked great, which is good because once the screen crapped out it was the only way to adjust some settings. The bluetooth isn't bad, it just isn't good either. Lots of interference regardless of what device was paired to it. Overall I would not recommend this product nor will I ever buy planet audio again. But hey, I mean if you want to spend over a hundred bucks on what in the end amounts to nothing more than an am/fm stereo go for it. You may even get lucky and get one of the decent models like some other buyers apparently got. Be smart and hold onto your packaging if you do decide to roll the dice on this product though, more than likely you will need it.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joel

Baton Rouge, LA

Overall
Great value

February 27, 2016

You can't beat the Quality for this small amount of money.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Sage

Maplewood, MN

Overall
Good unit

February 6, 2021

I love this radio, it’s fun to have a pop-out screen and functionality all in one especially in my older project car. The only thing is it’s cold where I live at least half the year and when it gets too cold the fan is extremely loud until it warms up. Other than that works well.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

kenneth

wynantskill, NY

Verified Purchase
Overall
poor stereo

March 13, 2016

i purchased this produckt 4 months ago now the touch screen stays black im very unhappy with it and would like to see what will become of this not asking for money back but would like a replacement

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?