Showing 930 reviews for Rockford Fosgate Prime R500X1D

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
87%
4 Star
12%
3 Star
1%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
Ryan

East coast

Overall
Happy and impressed.

December 27, 2013

An absolute steal for the price. I have this amp wired to 2 ohms at 500rms on a fosgate punch p2d4 10" and it punches alright. I only have the gain set at half way. At first I had it installed to a stock stereo, what a waste. Now I'm running a pioneer 3500bhs and it has phenomenal sound, punch, clarity and rumble. It has more than enough power. Very happy and Sonic matches prices for less.
Will always shop here in the future.

70 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jordan

Charleston, SC

Overall
Rockford Fosgate has great power!

January 9, 2014

I bought this amp to upgrade from a 300 watt RMS Kicker amp. I enjoyed the Kicker amp, it could shred, and reliably too. However, this review isn't about the Kicker amp, it's about the Rockford Fosgate R500X1D. I installed the Fosgate and powered a 12 inch Polk, which burned it up. Then powered a Alpine 12 inch, which it nearly burned it up. This amp can REALLY push power! When you pair it, DO NOT just wing it, do not just turn the volume up to 3/4 and turn the gain up to 1/2. Any distortion pushed from this amp will kill a subwoofer. Meter it and O'scope it (or DD1 it). But when you set this baby up right, this amp ROCKS! I have it set up with 2 Kicker 12 inch Subs in a premade Kicker enclosure, and it kicks! I would definitely recommend this amp.

57 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jiggy fly

Albuquerque, NM

Overall
Rockford Fosgate is awsome

January 9, 2014

Just bought this amp for a p3d415 and it sounds great! wired sub at 2 ohms and im doing 14.8 v so amp is pushing at least the 500 watts rms. the birth sheet said 622. this little amp is way worth it! Rockford Fosgate is the s*** get up on it!

54 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Fred

APO, AE

Overall
Speechless Quality

September 18, 2014

Install went nice, when I first installed it it was on an old Sony Xplod 1200W sub, which at 4 ohms isn't bad, but when I put it on my twin Kenwood 3013PS 12" 400W RMS subs... it punches and punches and it's not even maxing out the subs themselves. I'm impressed on the power output, the birth sheet stated 664W RMS from the factory at 14.4V. Over all, well worth the purchase.

49 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Charles

punta gorda, FL

Overall
R500X1D

May 8, 2014

Decent amp for the price.I thought i enjoyed this amp,until i heard my sub through a different amp. I am changing out all my stuff for JBL (just because. no real reason...at first)when i hooked my 12 inch P3 to the JBL amp it was clearly a cleaner sounding bass note! For the money a good amp. If you have a little extra coin go for a different option.

50 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Seth

jackson, MO

Overall
amazing amp

December 21, 2013

I have this amp powering a Rockford fosgate P2D4 12, and its amazing. great power. I have it on 4.5 of 11, and im afraid to turn it up any more. this amp never gets hot, even after hours of driving. great amp. this is a must buy amp!

53 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Alex

Wichita, KS

Overall
Great amp, better price

April 8, 2014

I really like this amp. I bought it for a 2013 ford F-150 super crew with the upgraded Sony system because it was lacking bass. It is paired with 2 RF prime R 2's. Great output and sound quality.

Pros: runs cool, great power from small sized amp
Cons: none yet

47 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joe

Austin, TX

Overall
1st Timer

February 19, 2014

This is my first amp, so I have only second hand prior knowledge, but it drives my RF 10" sub really well. It was super easy to install and the class D doesn't get very hot at all so mounting options abound. All in all I highly recommend this amp if you're looking for an affordable way to drive a sub. It won't rattle the neighborhood, but it does get a few looks at the stoplights!

(I don't know about the durability, I'm sure it's fine, but it's new so I can't can't comment on that one. )

48 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

ry bread

Middleton,WI

Overall
UNREAL!!!!!!!

May 16, 2014

This amp is straight up amazing. First off I would like to say that this amp came with a certificate of 641 rms!!!! This thing is sooooooooooo much better than my cxm1100 boss amp and drives my 15 cvr to unreal levels. I give a double thumbs up. Would and will buy again if needed.
Not to mention its size is incredible!(small but powerfull)
All metal!
I could go on!

46 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Brennen

Newark, NY

Overall
Awesome amp

April 16, 2014

Like kicker amps the rms power out put is slightly under rated and comes with a certificate. I have it powering 2 10" diamond audio subs at 200 rms a piece wired together at 2 ohms at 400 rms together and the amp putting out 500 rms at 2 ohms and it puts out pure perfect power and sound awesome

46 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jacob

Vancouver, WA

Overall
Small but BIG Power

December 6, 2013

just hooked up this amp to two p2d2 8'' subs from Rockford, which contrast it nicely. when i first pulled it out of the box i was surprised on how small the thing was! which is great for small vehicles, in my case a 94 Nissan hard body. would recommend this sub to any one that ones a quality product at a low cost.

45 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Michael

SIOUX CITY, IA

Overall
Great budget amp

December 21, 2014

I already own a 500.1bd and 700.1bd RF punch amps for my two cars. I wanted another for my wife's vehicle. Forgot to mention we had a RF 300.1 in hers. I recently bought a Alpine sws 12d4 for her to replace an old kicker first gen crv. This is a single sub in a prefab ported box. Just wasn't happy with the 300.1 anymore, not enough power.I read the reviews on the 500x1d and was hopeful that it would be a good fit for her alpine without spending 200+. Got the amp Saturday and installed it. I have to say that it looked even better than the pictures. Also that it is small but heavy. Cool. Plenty of power with the sub wired to 2ohms. I only have the gain set at half. I'm sure we will have this set up for a long time. It bumps now and sounds great. Since I have only had the amp a couple days I'm giving durability 4 stars.

44 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Matt

Newport, AR

Overall
Solid amp for a great price

May 11, 2014

I have this running the newest P3 15 at 2 ohms and does it's power then some. Awesome budget pair up, the subs seeing 3 cu^ft at 35 hz in a L port design box. Loud and clean, this amp beats the crap out of that P3 15. The birthsheet said 637 rms. Originally I've always ran punch amps and honestly I thought that I downgraded because of budget purposes. But I sure was wrong. It sounds great, it gets lukewarm at the most after about an hour play time at full tilt. It was kinda difficult to get 4 gauge wire to fit but it fit barely on a Rockford 4 gauge kit. I guess that's the only complaint but besides that this amp is absolutely awesome. Especially for what you give for it. You'll notice when you open up the box, this amp is tiny! But made of a high quality construction, it's solid. Everything is oscoped, perfectly clean and dialed in. I highly recommend this amp for the value and performance. If your planning on having a 600 rms setup, go for this amp. It's cheap, reliable, and exceeds it's rating. I've had it for 1 1/2 months, and it's had a lot of play time full tilt for extended periods of time. Highly recommend it.

44 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Ryan

Menifee, CA

Overall
Great Value

February 3, 2014

Installed in my 13' Camaro SS along with a Pioneer 10" sub and really surprised of the quality. I spent about $350 for everything and it sounds much better than GM's $1200 MTX add on. Great amp!

45 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

SmegHead

Sacramento, CA

Overall
Good,cheap, powerful amp

February 13, 2015

Good amp at a great price. Mine birthed at 637rms. Ran it bumping hard for 2 straight hours without a hiccup.

42 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jeromey

pasco, WA

Overall
Awesome power!!!!

September 28, 2014

Great amp for a Great price!!!! I have this amp pushing a couple rockford p2's and they sound great in my 2013 Silverado.

45 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

D.J.

SPOKANE, WA

Overall
Extremely happy and impressed with Rockford's power

September 24, 2014

At first, I was skeptical about buying this amp due to the fact that I had never seen or heard a rockford amp in person before. But after I installed the amplifier with ease, I was astonished at how well this amp drove my subwoofers. I have it powering 1 Rockford P3D4-10 and it bumps. I have this amp and sub side by side with a second P3D4-10 powered by a Kenwood 7005ps 5 channel amp and when the sub powered by the ken wood amp starts to distort, the sub powered by the rockford amp stays strong without the gain turned up all the way. Extremly impressed with this amps capabilities and power and very happy with the sound. The pass-thru RCA ports on the amp are a bonus as well. I would definitely recommend this!

45 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Abel

Belen, NM

Overall
Fosgate Amp

February 4, 2014

I really love the amp. had one before but not as good, and sleek design as one that this one has. Always been a fan of Rockford Fosgate!

42 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Masonjb

Pelican Rapids, MN

Overall
Great Product

September 17, 2013

I purchased this amp to power two 12" Rockford Fosgate P1's. I got it hooked up and it pounds hard! Incredible amp for the price, I would recommend to anyone looking for a great deal at a great price.

40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

david

queen creek, AZ

Overall
Big power small package

June 22, 2014

Used this amp in a 2010 f150 it's very small about the size of a DVD case. Using it at 4 ohms at 1/4 gain with a shallow 19 and it pushes clean loud power. I highly recommend for small spaces. A+ Job

43 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Matt

Peachtree City, Georgia

Overall
Great Amp

March 19, 2015

I purchased this amp over a month ago and I've fallen in love with it. It is powering my single 15 inch Alpine Type S and I have nothing but positive things to report about it. I would recommend this amp, great buy for the money.

39 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jacob

Bixby, OK

Overall
good amp for the price

March 1, 2015

Good amp for the price put it on a late model p3 10 in a ported box sounds great good power to the sub too!

39 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Eddie

Minnesota

Overall
Lots of Power for the Price!

May 13, 2014

I purchased this amp and have had it in my 2005 Impala for 1 month now. It is powering 2 12" MTX Terminators, and it slams! Although the specs online say the amp is rated for 500 Watts RMS, my amp came with a spec sheet stating that the amp was tested and provided 642 watts of clean power at 2 ohms. For the price, it is one of the best amps available.

The amp was very easy to setup. The only issue I had was when I was trying to fit the 4 gauge power and ground wire into the terminal block on the amp. I managed to get it to fit, but the terminal blocks are angled down. Due to this, it is difficult to get the wires to fit once the amp is mounted to the sub box. This is a minor complaint, because once the amp is connected, it is easy to tune and it works great.

Also, the included dial works very well, and is useful when you simply want less bass without having to adjust the gain dial on the amp.

Overall, this amp works very well. I have not found anything better for the price. It provides much more power than it is rated for, never gets warm, and is built very well. Personally, I highly recommend it.

41 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

joseph

orange park, FL

Overall
Works great

March 22, 2014

Not a whole lot to say here. Excellent product thats is very well made (typical for Rockford). CEA compliant and VERY compact which is probably my favorite part. LOTS of clean power for the size it is, it came with a certificate of 629 RMS. Runs pretty cool. It gets warm but never burning hot although I am just powering 1 MB Quart PWM304 with it . Highly Recommend this product. The only con are the angled wire terminals.

41 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Dylan

Southern VA/Satellite Beach, FL

Overall
Stage 2 for Stage 1+ prices!

January 30, 2014

This Rockford Fosgate R500X1D is an amazing piece of hardware! I had a previous gen (R500-1, which was 2 previous gens behind) that was a Class A/B amp and the birth sheet was around 524RMS @2Ohms. That amp was OKAY until it started to over heat even when set with a DMM below the correct gains. This amp is literally half the size (just bigger than a CD case) and is the more efficient Class D which allows for better input-to-output power. This 500w amp was birthed at 638RMS @2Ohms and let me tell you...that's no joke for SPL!

I have a Pioneer TS-W1200PRO (12" DVC 450RMS handling) in an AE sealed box @1.08cu/ft is loud! I have this amp DMM tuned to about 475RMS after I broke in the sub and it's enough to feel the air moving with 3/10th bass boost. I can't be more pleased with this little thing, at least until I get my next sub that can handle the power (google SoundQubed). I've ran this amp at full (tuned) levels for a trip starting in NC and ending in upstate NY (10 hours) and not once clipped/got hot.

Pros: Definitely underrated power specs, very small and can fit in most any corner, Control knob comes in handy when a 5-0 pulls up at a light with the windows down, uses allen wrenches for wires (and comes with them), Stays very cool.

Cons: No subsonic filter (thus 4 stars), the remote has a VERY bright blue LED and can be bothersome at night...but I'm going to tint it or mod it to control another LED circuit to flash with the beat in the hatch.

40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

edrick

Puerto Rico

Overall
great amp.!!

September 24, 2013

This amp it's rated at 500 rms at 2 ohms..but with the birth sheet says about 651 rms at 14.4 v.. my car its delivering 13.5 v its about 624rms...not to bad for 2 12's Rockford P1S412..they hit hard the 2 of them with this amp at 2 ohms and a custom ported box tunned at 33 hz. I recomend this amp to any one its looking for a budget amp..for the price.!! ROCKFORD FOSGATE ALL THE WAY.!!

38 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Cooper

Santa Barbara, CA

Overall
Awesome AMP great price!

March 11, 2014

This is a reputable brand that is known for there high quality products. So I bought it. Paired it with a jl w3v3 10" and it sounds awesome! I would definitely buy another Rockford amp. Just make sure it fits well with the wattage of your sub and you're golden!

40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Dick

Valencia ca

Overall
THIS IS AN AWESOME AMP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

October 30, 2013

I have this thing hooked to an NVX 10 and i listen to all types of music and it just works no issues I have an hour commute and it does not overheat or miss a beat Thanks Sonic and Allen for all your help

39 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

wheelsspinnin_imagrinnin

Nampa, ID

Overall
Great amp!

July 10, 2013

For it's size, this amp pack a prime punch! I run a pair of 12's off this in 2 ohms. The bass hits hard, shakes my mirror, and allows quarters to be bounced off my trunk. While you won't be breaking any windows with this, it has set off some car alarms in parking lots.

35 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Kirk

Tuscumbia, AL

Overall
Hits hard and runs cool

January 22, 2014

I put this amp onto a pair of Pioneer TS-W254R subs and build a custom box. I installed this amp in my 16 yr old sons car. This setup really hits hard and you can imagine how he plays it. Its been installed for about 2 months and have not had one minute of trouble. The amp plays well and runs really cool even when really pushed.

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Sound Fanatic

NEW ORLEANS, LA

Overall
Super power in a small package

March 5, 2014

I have this amp powering a single Rockford Fosgate P3D4-12, this amp will put some amplifiers twice it's size to shame. All i can say is pure undistorted vibrate your azz power. Way underated i cant turn the gain half way because something will give either my back glass or my front no BS, whoever doesn't believe me come sit in my 07 accord. For now i have the sub in a prefab sealed box, but will soon get a custom built to specs ported enclosure. Love Sonic, love their service, and prices will be ordering much more soon, thanks.

34 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

chris

astoria, OR

Overall
great little amp

September 3, 2013

This amp rocks. I got this same amp and an earthquake sound 10 inch sub a week ago and it hits hard for a 10. This amp is really cheap but still great quality. Might even hook my friend up with one. I have it's big brother the 1200d pushing two kicker 15s hard. They are hitting around 140db. Great amp both of them.

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

DisturbedOne

Kokomo, IN

Overall
Under Rated AMP. this little thing is loud and runs cool.

September 1, 2013

i didnt want much. i wanted something 500 watts RMS. this is my first fosgate amp and I'm blown away! my birth sheet says 651 Watts RMS. i am pleased that i bought a quality product.

32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mas

Las Vegas, NV

Overall
Its okay.

March 15, 2015

I own this little amp and matched along with 1 RF P3D410 500 RMS / 1K Peak woofer in a ported box. Brand new, it sounded legit for the budget but after the break in period was over it didn't perform as it once was expected. Sure it hits but there's something that feels off. I have it wired properly for sure and the power is being supplied by a Optima Yellow Top battery along with a 160a alternator but it's just not hitting as hard. Maybe it's the ported sub box I bought from Amazon. Don't know but I'm going to try a sealed box to see if makes a difference.

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Kameron

Humble, TX

Overall
Powers my 12's hard!!!

March 30, 2015

I love this amp. If your looking for a amp that doesn't cost that much but is one of the best brands, this is the one!!!

32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Matt

Florida

Overall
Bomb Proof Amp

October 17, 2014

I wasn't going to review this amp, but I just feel like it deserves some recognition. I'm buying a NVX JAD1200.1 to replace this Rockford, so I decided to smoke test my R500X1D. I wired this amp down to 1 ohm on 2 Sound Stream T7 10's. I just went on a 30 minute ride blasting Decaf through it at max volume (probably clipping a little). The amp didn't even get warm! Never went into protect mode. Subs didn't get warm. No hiccups. Bottom line: Rockford makes awesome amps.

I'm sure they don't recommend wiring this little guy down to 1 ohm, but it's probably over 3 ohms at all frequencies after box rise anyway. The amp has never given me any problems. It's very solid and feels well built. Even on really hot days in Florida I don't feel bad about blasting away for hours on end. It's not anything crazy, but it does bang pretty nicely for an amp rated at 500 watts.

32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Remus

Raleigh, NC

Overall
Amazing amp

November 21, 2014

Definitely blown away by this amp. Its very compact, never gets incredibly hot, and pushes my 2 12in Kickers hard.

32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

yonny

Independence, OR

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great amp

August 7, 2015

This amplifier work great it's small and it puts out 625 watts does not overheat even in 106 weather and the sound is great with a p2 sub. Definitely recommend it

18 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

simon

Canada

Overall
nice product

July 31, 2015

So far So good ! Beautiful design, it looks awesome with my 8" punch RF subwoofer! Installation went well and quite Fast. i installed the little low/high switch in a Small "globe box" left of the steering Wheel. Be aware the Blue LED of the switch Is VERY Bright So I suggest You to hide it. Overall vert good amp

19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

DAN

Mesa AZ

Overall
Great price

July 5, 2015

I recommend this amp for anyone who wants a great quality product for an affordable price. The birth sheet rates the amp at 635 watts RMS and that is outstanding for a 500 watt amp. I have 1 JL Audio W3v2 D4 12 inch sub in a bandpass box and I can not wait to see how well it will sound when paired with this product. Very satisfied customer, and I will continue to buy any future products from here.

21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Josh

Alabama

Overall
*sigh*

September 15, 2015

I wish amplifier manufacturers wouldn't make us use a screwdriver to set the controls. Why can't they make it so you can adjust it by hand like the volume control on your radio? It would stop the gain setting etc. from getting scratched up and you could probably set it more accurately by hand. Other than that, it's a solid amp.

10 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Harvest, AL

Overall
Never gets hot....

November 13, 2015

Seriously. This is the first RF amp I've owned and probly the first good class d amp I've ever owned either. I've heard if you run this at 2 ohms it will get warm but me railing on the sub at 4 ohms doesn't even get this thing heated. In fact it always feels cold to the touch. It was worth the minimal amount of extra money to get a good brand amp for this alone as it gives many mounting location options, not to mention longevity.

Cons: amp has no fuse. It's up to you to be SURE to correctly fuse this thing with the amp kit, not really a con an fyi.
The remote bass controller light is blazing bright, not sure how someone could drive with it facing you. I took it apart and taped over the light and it's still bright enough to see when on, definetly liveable now.
I wish manufactures would incorporate a a power switch into the remote bass controllers. Like if you turned the switch all the way down it would click at the end and turn the sub off. Seems like a no brainer as I sometimes take the sub out of the vehicle and I don't want the amp to even turn on.

Overall? Can't beat it.

8 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joe

Saratoga Springs, NY

Overall
Awesome little amp

September 13, 2015

Seems pretty true to what it states, had this hooked up to a 4 ohm sub and it was adequate. Switched to a new Polk 12" at 2 ohms and it's great.

9 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

ivan

dallas, TX

Overall
great compact amp

October 10, 2015

ive purchased a few of these already and they always perform well, small chasis size but dont be fooled. doesnt heat up with proper settings, great budget amp

7 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Logan pierce

Colorado Springs, co

Overall
My ears will never be the same

March 10, 2016

This thing, this tiny little black and grey box of metal, seriously blew my mind, and quite possibly my ear drums after installation. I don't know how nor did I expect it to pack as much of a demonic punch as it does. I have it in the back of my Hyundai suv, pushing 2x Rockford fosgate 12" p2's in their own custom vented box. I've never been known to scream like a 12 year old girl at a princess party, but the first time the beat dropped after I put the thing in, that shrill little noise could've been hear for miles I'm sure. It hits so hard it will literally blow a lighter out, that a person in the front seats is holding. It has extended the cracks in my front window ten fold, ruined a decent amount of my hearing I'm certain, dropped sunglasses out of the ceiling without notice, and hasn't stopped moving my rear view mirror to where I can only see a little bit of the backseat floor area. But I love it. The best little investment, for the money, that can possibly be out there. A true 500w amp, an essential for anybody seeking that life ruining level of sound. (Listen at your own risk!)

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Ricky

Wilmington, NC

Overall
Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

December 13, 2015

Item arrived as advertised. Shipping was quick and the amp works great!

7 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Russ

Orlando Florida

Overall
Nice woofer

November 20, 2015

This has everything you need good construction and great power handling and of course great sound.

7 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

John boy

drexel nc

Overall
great buy

October 4, 2015

This amp is little but man does it pack a punch my 01 ram 1500 sounds really good people can here me coming a block away if I crank it up but I listen at lower volume most of the time

7 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

john

drexel nc

Overall
excellent buy

October 4, 2015

This amp is a great I bought 2 12 p1s and this amp makes those subs sound great I would recommend this amp

6 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Fort Wayne, IN

Verified Purchase
Overall
I debated between RF and Alpine

October 30, 2019

I have had R.F. punch amps in the past 15-20 years ago and as well as Alpine brand amps. I am setting up just a basic "old man" system in my work truck with some upgraded door speakers ( head unit powered) and a single 10" JL sub. I took a chance on the more affordable Fockford Fosgate "Prime" series MONO amp because I got it for about $125 with coupon and free shipping though Sonic. Best price I found anywhere online. It has also included the bass remote knob which should be helpful as I don't always want to blast bass heavy music. I hope it will last at least 5 years or more. I will also consider the NVX amps for my next purchase.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Manchester, NH

Overall
More power than expexted

August 18, 2019

I have JLAudio 10W3v3-2 in a sealed enclosure attached to a Rockford Fosgate R500X1D that has a "born on watts" of 629! I am still tuning the system. Plenty of thump. So far, I have not wished there was more. I am trying to not go too loud until it breaks in. I highly recommend the combo.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

okc, OK

Verified Purchase
Overall
very nice amp

August 10, 2019

this amp puts out power it's rated at 500 rms but it comes with a build sheet says tested at 645rms. which I liked it came with that. I had a boss riot 1100amp on a JL12w1v3-2 and its a night and day difference on how my bass sounds. this amp performs and sounds great. More power and performance to my system it even makes my door n pillar speakers sound better if your looking 4 a quality and performance amp get this lil monster. and I like the bright light on the amp and bass knob reminds me of the quality and performance this amp puts out

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Queens NY

Overall
Quality product

July 31, 2018

Pros quality product from Rockford fosgate, pairs perfectly with RF 12"enclosure and don't take up lot of space can be mounted almost anywhere. Cons the blue light on the remote bass knob is very bright in the night. Can easily be fixed by moving remote knob maybe somewhere under the dashboard

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

San Antonio, TX

Verified Purchase
Overall
Rockford Fosgate Prime R500X1D

July 14, 2018

What a Beast !!!! runs cool, efficient and a very clean amplifier. For under 150 $ it can't be beat!

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Boynton Beach Florida.

Overall
Rockford Fosgate Prime R500X1D

June 22, 2018

This amp is wonderful, the power this amp put out is outstanding. My birthing sheet read 623 rms. I got it hooked up to are 2 P3's Rockford garbage subs, shallow mount. I couldn't ask for a better amp, my next project will be when I add two subs , I already have the 1200 D, I'll update later when I complete my next project.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Scott

Thomasville, GA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great amp

December 28, 2017

I have 1 in my truck and wired this 1 in my nephews trucks wired to 2 p3s and it sounds good. This one is certified at 647 watts and mind is rated at 650 watts ems. Great value for an amp

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Andres

indio, CA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Perfect

July 21, 2017

This little amp powers my sub just perfect. Rockfordfosgate never lets me down! Great price as well.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Nate

Lakewood Colorado

Overall
500x1d

December 15, 2016

Love them amp I use it to push my jl audio w7 8 inch and it hits hard

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Dnice

Chesapeake Va

Overall
Great little amp

May 30, 2016

I love this little amp, it has just enough power to do exactly what I need it to do, and does not take a lot of space. I will gladly recommend this amp to my friends

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joe

Apopka, FL

Verified Purchase
Overall
One Awesome AMP

May 1, 2016

I have been a long-time fan of Rockford Fosgate, all the way back to my High School days in the 90's when I was proud of my punch 45.
So, when I decided to add some bass to my 02 Dodge Ram Quad Cab 4x4 I first looked at RF. I didn’t want to just settle on RF simply because I loved their products and quality over 20 years ago. After all the playing field has been greatly leveled since that time and RF has out sourced their entry level "Prime" Series like many others have.
So, for several weeks I researched the different brands of amps, reading countless reviews and watching YouTube videos. I kept coming back to this RF Prime R500X1D. The price is amazing for what you are getting. The best part was that It would be a perfect power match once driven down to 2ohms for what I was intending to install.
I obviously purchased it, which is why I am writing this review.
I have zero complaints about this amp. RF is known for under rating the RMS on their amps which is impressive to me in a world where 200 watt amps are regularly sold as 1,000 watts. The birth sheet that came with my amp was approx 637 watts RMS. Thats not bad when I paid for a 500 watt RMS amp.
I am VERY impressed!!!!
My Only Regrets with purchasing this amp is I "kinda" wish I had gone ahead and purchased the R1200-1D. Then again the average amp draw for the R500X1D is only 25amps while the R1200-1D is 55Amps.
And… right now this amp has pushed my two JL audio 10’s like a beast and it barely gets warm.
I can say that It doesnt effect my factory electrical system and I haven’t had to modify anything.

Cons:
The only complaint I have about this amp… well not necessarily the amp but the “Punch Level Control Knob” is that the blue light is reaaallly bright. Normally I like the accessory lights in the interior of my truck to be bright but this thing is a little annoying to me. One of the biggest reasons I don’t care for it is that it’s so bright that you can’t tell what the actual level is sitting at (at night) because the light prevents you from seeing the position of the knob face. I’m considering just putting a small piece of scotch tape over it. This is def not a deal breaker but is worth mentioning.
Also, it would have been great to receive the typical RF security screws that they include with so many of their products.
One last thing… the angle of the power and ground block makes for a fairly clean install, especially when the wires are run from under the amp and then into the block but can be a pain to get 4awg wire completely into the hole at that angle. I ended up installing the power and ground wire into the amp and then mounting the amp to the cab floor under the drivers seat.

To bad we can’t post pics of our installs on with our reviews.

All in all, I would def recommend this amp to anyone that is looking for excellent power, clean sound and an incredible price.
I Have Found Sonic Electronix To Be Superior In Customer Service, Products and Super Fast Shipping

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Noah

Hudson Falls, NY

Verified Purchase
Overall
Its a Rockford enough said

February 22, 2016

I bought this amp because of its size and power out put also great price. Overall better than I expected but again it is a Rockford. Only negative for me the remote is useless it sounds better without it hooked up. Not really a big deal as I don't mind retuning once in a while. I've been using Rockford Fosgate amps for 15 years im happy the Chinese production hasn't ruined them I will absolutely continue buying their brand and continue recommending them to all who ask

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

clint

cheyenne, WY

Verified Purchase
Overall
Awesome amp

December 2, 2015

I think these fosgate amps are built really well and are very powerful for their price point. I don't have anything bad to say about them and would definitely recommend to family and friends.

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Troy

Jackson,MS, MS

Overall
great product it pushes my subs just right

November 19, 2015

I would recommend this amp for any bike not to small not to big

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

james

arkansas City, KS

Overall
the little amp that could

October 16, 2015

A small powerhouse. I really like the bass controller. Using to run a dvc sub at 2 ohms. It has never overheated. A+

7 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joe

Saratoga Springs, NY

Overall
Awesome little amp

September 13, 2015

Seems pretty true to what it states, had this hooked up to a 4 ohm sub and it was adequate. Switched to a new Polk 12" at 2 ohms and it's great.

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Seychelles

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great power!!

December 10, 2019

I recommended this rock ford amp,the power to surprise !!!this thing can hold at max and doesn’t even get hot,and the quality speak for them self

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Louisville, KY

Verified Purchase
Overall
What a little power house

October 5, 2019

This amp is small but it will surprise you it sounds amazing hooked to my p3

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Silverdale, WA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Just buy it

September 21, 2019

This amp is great, you really can’t go wrong with fosgate

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Winder, GA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Perfect match

September 9, 2019

I just wanted something to drive my 10" single subwoofer. This was a perfect match as it won't overdrive and blow my speaker. A nice little feature is a small separate gain control knob that is very small and can be nicely tucked in a very small space.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Rick

Bowlus MN

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great bang for the buck!!

July 27, 2019

Can't beat the value for the power it puts out.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Newark, DE

Verified Purchase
Overall
great value

March 29, 2019

This amp has the right power the doctor ordered. Pushes my Rockford Punch 12" P2 with no problem

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Hollywood, FL

Verified Purchase
Overall
Rockford Fosgate Prime R500X1D

January 30, 2019

Purchased this amp for my son's first system in his '16 Cruze. Great power from a small footprint and the high level inputs for use with a factory radio makes it an ideal amp for this install. The amp powers two ID12s I had leftover from a previous system, and my son loves it. Also, as always, Sonic Electronix has the best prices and ships fast.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Lake Worth, FL

Verified Purchase
Overall
Big bass. Small price

January 29, 2019

This amp puts out all of 500 watts or more. With the remote to control power for every song, its compactsize,and its cea compliant specs, I bought 2 of these I liked them so much. Great amp

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Hannah, ND

Verified Purchase
Overall
Rockford Fosgate Prime R500X1D

November 28, 2018

I really like this amp. Awesome power output for the dollar. This thing really moves my P3 sub

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Schenectady, NY

Verified Purchase
Overall
Good stuff!

August 3, 2018

This item did exactly what it should. Great value. I would definitely recommend!!

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Pennsylvania

Overall
Rockford Fosgate Prime R500X1D

June 15, 2018

This amp is awesome very powerful I paired with 2 R2D2 12s and definitely exceeded my expectation

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Eastman, GA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Rockford Fosgate Prime R500X1D

June 6, 2018

Sonic Electronix for the win. I have heard good things about Rockford Fosgate since way back when in the late 80s. Ordered this little amp to install in my 2009 Honda Accord on a P3 d4 12 in a Q bomb ported enclosure. I am not looking to do any hair tricks. Just want solid deep bass inside my vehicle without disturbing the entire city block. Looking forward to seeing what this little set up will do. Thanks Sonic Electronix for the speedy service. I have been shopping with you guys for 4 years and you still have the same excellent service. Two thumbs up!!

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Leonard Tx.

Overall
Rockford Fosgate Prime R500X1D

May 22, 2018

Love the compact size and great for tucking out of sight I now own 3 of them each in different vehicles and as always another great product from fosgate

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jeramy

Bowling Green, Kentucky

Overall
Great Little Amp

March 15, 2018

This is a lot of amp for the money. I have been running it for about a month on one P3 12. It has plenty of kick for my taste. As is protocol for Fosgate amps they are way underrated. Mine has a dyno sheet that says 630 watts rms. Overall I am pleased with my purchase and would recommend this amp to anyone wanting a solid little amp for a little bass.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Justin

Schenectady NY

Overall
Great amp.

February 8, 2018

I purchased this amp to replace another that had come in a bundle with my 2 12’ subs. The other amp was incredibly unpowered so it needed to go. As soon as I hooked up this amp the difference in the power going to my subs was like night and day. I highly recommend this. You can’t go wrong with Rockford. This amp states that it is 500 Watts rms but my birth sheet stated that is was over 600. Where else you going to find that kind of quality?

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Kent

Winston Salem, NC

Verified Purchase
Overall
Packs a punch

October 6, 2017

Great amp overall. Easy on the wallet with excellent features!
Love that it’s compact and needs little room to be mounted anywhere. The bass controller that comes with the amp was an excellent and very useful accessory!

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Ryan

Tuckerton, NJ

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great Amp

September 17, 2017

I purchased this amp because I wanted true RMS power. The birth sheet says 637 RMS. It's a great amp. Great S/N ratio and puts out the power. Small chassis and stays cool with hours of play. It's powering my NVX VCW124 in a ported box tuned to about 35Hz. With the ported box, you can get away with under-powering the sub and still have plenty of excursion. However, I should have purchased more watts; at least 800 RMS. With that said, It's still a great purchase. Thank You.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jerome

Victorville, Ca

Verified Purchase
Overall
Best Amp for the Money

March 4, 2017

This amp is great. I have nothing negative to say about it.
Pros:
The amp certificate sheet shows this amp is pushing well over 600 RMS.
The amp stays cool while being push hard.
Sounds clean and is an hundred percent better than my last amp.My sub sounds louder and more powerful than on old amp. I have this amp hooked up to a new RockFord Fosgate P3D4 10 inch.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

david

Rancho Cordova, CA

Verified Purchase
Overall
This amp Rocks!

February 15, 2017

I bought this to power a single Memphis 10" M5dvc running at 2ohm.
It absolutely blows away the 2 10" kickers I previously ran. The size to power ratio has got to be the best on this site. Runs cool, simple hookup and takes up so little room.
If you want to build a small clean system that rocks I highly recommend this amp.
I run this amp with a 4 channel for the doors in a gmc sierra quad cab pu.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jose

san bernardino ca

Overall
very good

January 24, 2017

yes I BUY AGAIN sound good small lot power thank you sonic

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

William

Moneta, VA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Most excellent device

January 17, 2017

I have owned many amps before, but this AMP takes the cake. If you want ease of use with awesome sound, this is the ticket.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Rob

Freeport TX

Overall
Awesome

January 8, 2017

Just installed today and sounds very good looks cool plays well.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Kelvin

Morris, AL

Verified Purchase
Overall
BUY IT NIOW

January 3, 2017

You are actually getting a 600+watt amp, its super durable. Its rockford fosgate so you know its good. For this price its amazing.... buy now! even if its just a amp to play around with...

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Caedyn

Ogden, UT

Overall
Works great!

November 21, 2016

Showed up quick, it was cheap, and it works perfectly!

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Caedyn

Ogden, UT

Overall
Works great!

November 21, 2016

Showed up quick, it was cheap, and it works perfectly!

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

ANTHONY

SAN ANTONIO, TX

Verified Purchase
Overall
Quality for a great price

November 20, 2016

I've always avoided fosgate because I didn't want to be "mainstream" but I was wrong... at least I'm wrong if this amp is a representation of the rest of their products. Birth sheet showed 632 Watts. Have it pushing an RF P3dv4 10 and couldn't be happier. Gets more sound than I've ever heard out of a 10" in a sealed box. Sound quality is average at 2 ohms (of course this is subjective) but power is pretty good. It is very comparable to an Alpine MRP-M500 but adds the option for the bass knob and is more efficient. Will definitely consider RF again.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Megan

Liberty, MO

Overall
Awesome amp

November 14, 2016

This amp is awesome. You've got to watch how much watts it pushes it will blow certain types of subs, but overall great amp.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

EdP

Allen Park, MI

Verified Purchase
Overall
Tons of power. Better than Alpine I had.

October 8, 2016

I had the equivalent Alpine amp of the same power. Bought this amp just to have kicking around. Got board one day and swapped them out. Wow am I glad I did. The Alpine sounded very good but this amp is noticeably more punchy. The alpine is now for sale. I have it hooked up to a RF P2 12" in a ported box.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

TWP-Mentor

Pittsburgh, PA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Small But Mighty

October 7, 2016

This Amp is a must Have for a budget system! Its RMS output is well over 500 RMS! RF tests & rates every amp. Mine was rated 642 RMS. I have pushed this amp to the limit and not once I have had any issues! I have this puppy pushing a RF P3D4 15 and it is Earth Shattering. I would recommend this amp to anyone whos looking for amp on a budget.
Thanks Sonic E!

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

brian

medina, OH

Overall
Very good.

August 26, 2016

Good power for the $. My boss loved the install I did in his 1950 Ford Panel

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jack

Russellville, AR

Overall
tiny beast

July 1, 2016

Very nice lil amp cant beat it for the money

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joe

Apopka, FL

Overall
One Awesome AMP

May 1, 2016

I have been a long-time fan of Rockford Fosgate, all the way back to my High School days in the 90's when I was proud of my punch 45.
So, when I decided to add some bass to my 02 Dodge Ram Quad Cab 4x4 I first looked at RF. I didn’t want to just settle on RF simply because I loved their products and quality over 20 years ago. After all the playing field has been greatly leveled since that time and RF has out sourced their entry level "Prime" Series like many others have.
So, for several weeks I researched the different brands of amps, reading countless reviews and watching YouTube videos. I kept coming back to this RF Prime R500X1D. The price is amazing for what you are getting. The best part was that It would be a perfect power match once driven down to 2ohms for what I was intending to install.
I obviously purchased it, which is why I am writing this review.
I have zero complaints about this amp. RF is known for under rating the RMS on their amps which is impressive to me in a world where 200 watt amps are regularly sold as 1,000 watts. The birth sheet that came with my amp was approx 637 watts RMS. Thats not bad when I paid for a 500 watt RMS amp.
I am VERY impressed!!!!
My Only Regrets with purchasing this amp is I "kinda" wish I had gone ahead and purchased the R1200-1D. Then again the average amp draw for the R500X1D is only 25amps while the R1200-1D is 55Amps.
And… right now this amp has pushed my two JL audio 10’s like a beast and it barely gets warm.
I can say that It doesnt effect my factory electrical system and I haven’t had to modify anything.

Cons:
The only complaint I have about this amp… well not necessarily the amp but the “Punch Level Control Knob” is that the blue light is reaaallly bright. Normally I like the accessory lights in the interior of my truck to be bright but this thing is a little annoying to me. One of the biggest reasons I don’t care for it is that it’s so bright that you can’t tell what the actual level is sitting at (at night) because the light prevents you from seeing the position of the knob face. I’m considering just putting a small piece of scotch tape over it. This is def not a deal breaker but is worth mentioning.
Also, it would have been great to receive the typical RF security screws that they include with so many of their products.
One last thing… the angle of the power and ground block makes for a fairly clean install, especially when the wires are run from under the amp and then into the block but can be a pain to get 4awg wire completely into the hole at that angle. I ended up installing the power and ground wire into the amp and then mounting the amp to the cab floor under the drivers seat.

To bad we can’t post pics of our installs on with our reviews.

All in all, I would def recommend this amp to anyone that is looking for excellent power, clean sound and an incredible price.
I Have Found Sonic Electronix To Be Superior In Customer Service, Products and Super Fast Shipping

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

James

Prairieville, LA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Excellent performance and a quality amp

March 29, 2016

This amp has plenty of power and puts out more than whats in the specs. Stays cool and never gets hot. If you need some power for a couple of subwoofers this is it. I have owned RF products in the past and they always have excellent performance.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jeffrey

Council Bluffs, IA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great amp and an excellent value

March 28, 2016

I have this amp powering a JL Audio W1 and its a great match at 4 ohms. Never gets real hot and had all the options I was seeking from an amp. I would definitely recommend this amp for anybody considering it. Great price too!

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

KOE3

Alabama

Overall
Amazing Brand

March 28, 2016

You can't ever go wrong in buying a Rockford Fosgate amp. This product exceeded my high expectations I already had for it

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

evyatar

Hillside, NJ

Verified Purchase
Overall
R500X1D Excellent product

March 26, 2016

I bought the amplifier of Rockford And this amp
Really open the sub.
Upgrading the sound system.
A very strong amplifier.
highly recommend

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Hugo

Oceanside ,CA

Overall
Awesome deal

March 24, 2016

Nice price easy transaction sounds great! Well buy from you guys again.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

ULYSSES

Americus, GA

Overall
Rockford

March 21, 2016

U can't go wrong with fosgate one of the best when it come to car audio I bought this to power a p2 8" subwoofer put it in a 2011 Dodge Charger I was amazed at how good it sound push out tons of power only it being a 500 watt amp I didn't want a lot of bass just enough I can hear on the inside

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

reaper9487

Lead Hill, Arkansas

Overall
great product

March 20, 2016

This amp works great it's small yet powerful pushes my subs with no problems at all

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Connor

Cleveland, TN

Verified Purchase
Overall
Excellent Performance

March 6, 2016

I bought this amplifier to go with my single Rockford Fosgate P3 12 inch subwoofer. The sub can handle 600 watts rms, 1200 watts max, and the birth sheet of my amp claimed that the amp can put out a very powerful 631 watts rms. At 2/3 gain and 1/2 punch EQ level, the subwoofer, which is in a 1.8 cu ft ported box tuned to 36 Hz, is clean, loud, and probably going to result in permanent nerve damage (which is why I will not turn it up much further: PLENTY of bass).

One drawback, however, is the lack of an adjustable subsonic filter. Although, I have heard from many sources that this amplifier actually comes with a fixed subsonic filter possibly around 30 Hz. This is evident, at least in my setup, because the subwoofer is obviously not trying too hard (little movement) on freqeuncies below 30 Hz, which makes me feel comfortable having it in a ported box. I do not believe that it has a chance of bottoming out with my current amplifier settings.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mark

New Mexico

Overall
Rockford Fosgate (awesome)

March 5, 2016

This amp is the first from Fosgate for me. This amp is awesome. It's small but puts out a lot. It's a single channel amplifier mainly for pushing subs. I have 2 10inch kicker comps hooked up to it and they sound amazing. The amp doesn't get that hot and so far I have yet to see any cons on this amp. The awesome people at sonic electronix helped me pick this one out as I am a beginner and I don't think they could have recommended a better amp.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jamie

Grand Island, NY

Overall
Excellent budget amp

February 27, 2016

This amp replaced my aged JL Audio 500 watt amp. I was on a budget so I chose the Rockford Fosgate Prime amp for RFs reputation, the price, and the positive reviews. It effortlessly powers my single JL Audio 10W6v2 and it sounds great to me. It did take a few days to break in and sounded a little flat at first. But after 5-6 commutes, it fattened up and started modulating my heartbeat. Cheers to Sonic Electronix for great customer service.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Travis

Whiteman Air Force Base, MO

Verified Purchase
Overall
GREAT PRODUCT!

February 24, 2016

Ive always been a Rockford fan. Previously I owned the 1000 Watt prime monoblock but ended up selling it with my previous system. At first I was wanting more power when shopping but settled with this 500 Watt because I know rockford pushes true RMS to watts. Coupled with tthe Rockford Fosgate P3 12'' this thing pushes. Sounds great, clean audio and worth every penny. Would recommend to any one interested.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Daron

Toccoa, GA

Overall
great amp

February 22, 2016

Very good product arrived on time ordered amp with complete kit to hook up amp in my truck very happy with service

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Preston

Ozark, MO

Overall
Rockford R500X1D Amp

January 29, 2016

This amp is a BEAST. When I got it the birth sheet rated it at just under 640 watts RMS. I paired it with a rockford p2d4 12" sub and it hits HARD. Very easy to set up, and is nice and small so it can mount just about anywhere.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Rayne, LA

Verified Purchase
Overall
AWESOME AMP!

January 17, 2016

This little bad boy is a beast! Don't let its small size fool you, it puts out rated wattage and then some. I have it powering a RE Audio SE X 10 and its rocking it! Couldn't ask for better, all around great buy!

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jay

Revere, MA

Overall
Great amp

January 11, 2016

This amp is tiny but don't let its size fool you. The birth certificate has it doing 575 watts rms; we have it hooked up to a 12 inch sub in a ported box using 4 gauge wiring. It gets super loud and boomy. The trunk had to be sound deadened because of the bass pounding.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mike

Mount Laurel, NJ

Overall
Unbeatable price for this performance

January 10, 2016

I have this paired with a 12" Rockford sub and my system hits hard and sounds great. The amp is extremely well made and the QA sheet that comes with it has it putting out 600+ Watts into 4 Ohms. The remote gain knob is a great addition, include in the box. Easy to setup, all top notch terminals, and great controls. I am using it with speaker level inputs from my 2014 Silverado.

I do have to very small grips though. First, the plastic speaker level connector does not stay put in the amp properly. I had problems attaching and removing the connector. I had to open it up and glue it back in place, otherwise the pins in the connector were not making proper contact. Second, it has speaker level inputs but does not auto turn on/off. That to attach to my trucks OEM radio requires that you either attach it to the ignition power, which is a nightmare to get to and then pass back to amp. I choose to make my won amp turn on circuit from an IC comparitor and an RC filter. Works like a charm. It really should have had that for the speaker level inputs. Minus one star for that.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Katy, TX

Overall
Team punch

December 29, 2015

Great business and products! Definitely will be my 1st option.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Alika-Jade

Durango, CO

Overall
great product for a good price

December 28, 2015

Its a great amp have it pushing a 10" Rockford p3 at 1 ohm and hits supper hard.great amp for your money I have a r1200 and have never had a problem and I push it hard everyday and I'm sure the r500 will do the same you can never go wrong with Rockford amps

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mac_Daddy

Chicago

Overall
BOOMIN SOUNDS! Excellen value!!!!

November 23, 2015

Those who read this, just to let you know that I am/have been a professional electrical/IT/engineer since 1999 and this rating should help any amateurs, beginners or up to even the best professionals with purchasing this product.

This is an excellent amp, I haven't really messed with the settings to "tune" it very much I just set everything at ~mid-levels, my pioneer deck has much more options to change levels, but right out of the box, this amp has been excellent so far, has not cut out/distorted even one time since installation and use. Installation was fun and easy. (Weekend project)
I had to cut a hole through the bed lining to mount the ground cable to the chassis but it's solid grounded and it's very rugged which is driving 2 - 10" ported JBLs that have 1000 watt max power, I even dropped the Ohmage down to 2 from 4 by wiring the subs in parallel, I'm sure this helped the amp from over driving and peak current phases.

So far my system sounds, looks and feels professional and could stomp a lot of competition. Great BUY, unbelievable value!!!!
Highly recommend!

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Chad

Fayetteville, AR

Verified Purchase
Overall
Best amp for the money

May 14, 2020

Rated at 500w. Certified at 650w. Rockford is the best.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Sammie

Goodman, MS

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great Products

May 13, 2020

I would recommend everyone to shop with Sonic Electronics because they always have the best prices on the best products and good service and always on-time delivery and I order from here always Thanks Sonic Electronics.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joshua

Boynton Beach, FL

Verified Purchase
Overall
Very happy

May 2, 2020

Id recommends this site and product to anyone looking to upgrade their car/ truck audio. Delivery was on time everything was in the package. I can't say anything bad because it was perfect all the way around.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Cody

San Angelo, TX

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great product and company

May 1, 2020

I had been told that Fosgate was known for being very high quality considering the price range of certain products. The amp is advertised at 500w RMS and I was pleased to see the certificate from RF showed it tested at 653 RMS. I installed it with an old MTX Audio TR45 12" I had gotten years ago and was really impressed with the sound, clarity, and loudness. Certain notes were almost comparable to the 12" Sundown that someone I know has. Unfortunately, the sub only lasted about 4.5 days (but it was purchased back in 2011 and had seen lots of use). I am waiting on a Sundown E class 12" to come in the mail now and think it will pair really well with this amp.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Ryan

West Point, MS

Verified Purchase
Overall
Good value and strong compact amp!

April 26, 2020

Purchased this for my son. I received it very quickly. Nice compact size. The power really surprised us! Wired the subwoofer for 2 ohms and it hits hard!

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

C

Pflugerville, TX

Verified Purchase
Overall
pretty good amp.

April 25, 2020

I bought this in 2016 and have been playing it pretty hard for about 3 1/2 years now, finally gave out but it was a good amp while it lasted.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Elliot

San Antonio, TX

Verified Purchase
Overall
Awesome amp

April 25, 2020

Great amp for the value. I have it pushing a Rockford Fosgate P3 12” In a ported Box. Love it

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

BASSHEAD

Columbus, OH

Verified Purchase
Overall
Replacing Punch 500a2

April 14, 2020

Lighter, Smaller, more efficient, less expensive, and LOUDER!
Sure its a mono-block but it's just running 2 JL10W0's like a champ!
Only about halfway on the gain.
easy controls for gain and crossover. Very happy with the purchase.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

John

Bellevue, NE

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great value

March 2, 2020

This amp has all the power you need to throw around my 10” L7 with ease. I love it!!

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Taylor

Denver, CO

Verified Purchase
Overall
More than 500W

February 19, 2020

This Amp has more than 500w, it's got power! Mine is now 2 years old.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jeromy

Walker, LA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great Product!

February 15, 2020

This amp is the go to for my rockford 10". I use a single R2D2 Rockford 10" under the smaller rear passenger seat. Completes my stock Bose system for the deeper and way sweeter bass to balance out my system!

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Wally

Roanoke, VA

Verified Purchase
Overall
As Always...

February 1, 2020

Rockford always makes great products. Even for an entry level amp it packs a punch. I have it running 2 Rockford 12s. The only thing I didn’t like was it’s only bridgeable to 2 ohms. Other than that, great amplifier.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Marc

DC

Verified Purchase
Overall
Rockford Fosgate Prime R500X1D

January 13, 2020

I would Recommend this amp. The set up / install is easy, the sound is excellent for the price, and the amp is super light

For the price your basically getting a steal for a entry level amp the quality is great

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jason

Schererville, IN

Verified Purchase
Overall
Love it

January 12, 2020

This is a great amp! After it comes with a remote Bass knob and the birth sheet said it puts out 647rms.. Great product!

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Nashville TN

Overall
Works great.

October 22, 2019

Works great in tight spaces. I didn't have much room under back seat of 2003 Silverado with the speaker box under there too. But this amp fits perfectly.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Newburgh Ny

Overall
Great price!

September 26, 2019

Works well with my my kicker 500w 2omh sub comp r it’s a great product and it’s a good brand a amp I heard a lot of good things about this brand

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Bowling Green, KY

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great budget amp

March 1, 2019

Great budget amp. As with most Fosgate amps it came with a birth certificate rated higher than advertised rms. I originally had it pushing one ported 12" P3. Now I have it pushing two JL Audio 10w3v3. Love it and the only way I would replace it is for a bigger one. One year and still running strong.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Columbia, MD

Verified Purchase
Overall
Amazing

January 13, 2019

Best bang for your buck amp, totally recommend it.. Doesn’t overheat and hits hard. I have it powering my 2mtx terminator 12’s.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Versailles, KY

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great Value

August 1, 2018

This Rockford Fosgate Amp performs beyond my expectations for what I paid for it. I would highly recommend it to anyone in the market for an amp. It was easy to install and even easier to tune.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Leonard TX

Overall
Rockford Fosgate Prime R500X1D

May 29, 2018

Great little amp I have running 2 10inch fosgate subs definitely recommend

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Lance

St.Joseph MI

Overall
Underrated!

May 9, 2017

I have 2 of these pushing 2 JL W o series, all good -15's and I can't get the gain on either amp to half. This is on a stock headunit in a 07 Hyundai Elantra. Still break in period but those amps are the stuff for being Primes and not Punches. From what I've seen as far as reviews go, a lot of people are saying that they're pushing closer to 600 than 500. Great job Rockford and Sonic. Win win again..

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joe

La Habra

Overall
Awesome Amp

November 18, 2016

Great amp for the price. Installed in my F350 with a 10 inch box Rockford Fosgate box woofer. Amazing bass. Highly recommend.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jimmy

Perry, OK

Overall
Rockford Fosgate R500X1D

October 18, 2016

I've used Rockford since the 80's and this amp keeps the tradition true.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Timmy

Denver

Overall
Great amp

June 19, 2016

Produces good power the the remote gain knob.Highly recommend it

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Justin

San Diego,CA

Overall
An absolute steal!

May 6, 2016

I bought this amplifier a few months ago on sale for around $120, and I am blown away at the amount of performance it delivers.

Although it is rated 500 watts RMS @ 2ohms, these amps actually put out well over 600 watts as many other owners will say. My "birth sheet" that came with the amp showed that it had been tested at the factory to put out 624 watts RMS, while some other units have tested at 630-640. What's crazy is just how small this little amp is. It easily fits under the driver's seat in my Corolla, along with a 2 farad capacitor.

I have used it to power a cheap Kicker Comp at 4 ohms, and now I have it running a single 600w Pioneer TS-3003D4 at 2 ohms, which it does with no problem. This amp hardly ever gets hot, and has never shut off on me. This is the first Rockford Fosgate product, I have ever bought and so far, it has been great!

One thing to note though, is that there are no on-board fuses, so make sure you have an inline fuse ( I'd recommend and 80amp) wired on your amp's positive power cable (which you should have regardless. )

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mike

Philadelphia, PA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Awesome Amp

April 23, 2016

This amp delivers more than enough power for my jl sub. It's also very affordable. The quality is there too.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

BigWill

Hallwood, Va.

Overall
Really Impressed.

February 19, 2016

If your looking for clear non stop power in a small package look no farther than the 500.1 Prime , this amp is a little war horse and I mean that, my birth sheet said 637 watts And I bieve it, I'm currently pushing 2 Kicker Comp 12 wired at 2ohm and it literally shakes my full size Crown Vic to pieces. And might I say I'm more impressed with how small the amp is my last amp was a Dual 580 and that was like a foot+ long , If your tight on space and money and want a amp with serious power look no farther than the 500.1 .. I'm sticking with Rockford Amps , I'm Pushing 500+ watts x1@2ohms and my Kickers are thumping like crazy ....

Thanks Rockford For making an incredible amp with amazing clear power in a small amp ...

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anthony

Minot, ND

Overall
Great little amp

May 30, 2021

The following review is for R2-500X1, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Paired this with an R2-300x4 and a Kicker L7 10. Love the clean clip light for input and output. Makes installing and tuning the amps extremely easy

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jay

Selah, WA

Overall
Awesome little economy amp

July 23, 2020

It's a super reliable amp that pushes the power you expect it to. Decent tuning capabilities. The bass nob on these aren't really responsive but they do work. You can find cheaper options but not at this quality. Outperforms my Hyphonics 1000 watt amp easily. Just wish it was rated for one ohm.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

James

Saginaw, MI

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great Buy

July 17, 2020

I would rate this amplifier a great value for the power and the size easy placement in tight areas

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Papo

Flowery Branch,Georgia

Overall
Great amp

July 17, 2020

Nice amp, easy to install, pushing a 12” Jl audio sub. It definitely shakes the windows. the bass controller is amazing.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joseph

Warrior, AL

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great power small size!!

June 20, 2020

Always loved RF power! This little amp puts out the power( more than advertised) and takes up very little room! Rated at 500 watts but my sheet says 652 watts! Awesome product! Sonic was fast and very professional getting me what I wanted! Thanks!!

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jose

Milford, CT

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great little amp

May 20, 2020

Compact design and solid performance. Offers more than rated power as expected for Rockford Fosgate product.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

wilfredo

$city, $state

Verified Purchase
Overall
Rockford prime R500XID

February 2, 2018

Cheap amplifier,big power,small size fit every where I'm soo happy

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Derek

Cottonwood, AZ

Verified Purchase
Overall
Good value

March 31, 2017

Good valued amp. Definitely puts out the recommended power. Small footprint helps in the installation. Feels hefty and well built. Would highly recommend for a budget amp.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jack

Kansas city

Overall
It does its job

December 7, 2016

I wired this with a walmart scoche 1200 watt wiring kit and hooked up a Rockford Fosgate Ps3-12 shallow mount truck box sealed. All in my 1993 Ford F150 Single Cab and it fit all behind the seat and it will punch!

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anthony

Cheshire. CT

Overall
very pleased

January 4, 2016

I bought this amp to power a JL Audio 10 inch sub does more than I ever imagined great value only problem is mine I should have bought more powerful amp I need a amp that pushed 500 RMS besides that this is a fantastic little amplifier and the price you can't be highly recommend it

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anthony

Minot, ND

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great little amp

May 30, 2021

The following review is for R2-500X1, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Paired this with an R2-300x4 and a Kicker L7 10. Love the clean clip light for input and output. Makes installing and tuning the amps extremely easy

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Layne

Moscow, ID

Verified Purchase
Overall
Awesome Amp

September 14, 2020

This amp is awesome. It feels really solid and Rockford Fosgate has a great reputation for making quality products. I have this amp hooked up to an NVX VSW104 v2 in a sealed box and it's a great match. Rockford Fosgate claims this amp pushes 500 watts RMS but they send a certificate with every amp that verifies the actual wattage output and mine in particular pushes 644 RMS watts. Overall I am very satisfied with this amp.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Gabriel

Wray, CO

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great product

September 6, 2020

This little amp puts out the juice. Specs on line are 500 rms at 2 ohm. The birth sheet that came with it said 635 at 2 ohm. So yeah I'm definitely pleased with this purchase.
Sonic Electronix is always a great company. Fast shipping no hassle. Thank you

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anthony

Townville, SC

Verified Purchase
Overall
Awesome little amp

September 2, 2020

This thing packs allot of punch to be so small. Everyone was amazed that the birth sheet specified it at 650watts rms. Amazing

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Lj

, Kokomo Mississippi

Verified Purchase
Overall
Best deal ever

December 7, 2020

The following review is for R2-500X1, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Can’t wait to hear Two day delivery is nice

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?