Showing 32 reviews for Scosche SA68

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
56%
4 Star
22%
3 Star
6%
2 Star
9%
1 Star
6%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
Jacob

Austin, TX

Overall
A valuable installation tool

February 24, 2014

Worked very well when putting Polk DXi 6.5s in my 98 Ford Ranger. Not very thick plastic, but that worked for me, since I didn't have much room behind the factory door panel. They are way more convenient than making your own adapter. You'll have to drill your own holes for the speaker mounts, and/or dremel them out a tad if your speakers need a larger cutout, but I used the measurements beforehand and they worked perfectly. Very nice.

43 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

J

Pac, CA

Overall
high quality product!

February 15, 2011

This product was made with quality. But unfortunately for me the units were made to thick to install in my 07' Mazda speed 3 door panels. Other than that, my shipments arrived on time and in perfect condition. Would order from again!

40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

christopher

pensacola, FL

Overall
Perfect

September 12, 2012

Just too easy and hard to hold when you install it

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Daniel

Maysville, KY

Overall
Fit Perfect, nice adapters on a budget!

December 5, 2011

Fit Perfect, nice adapters on a budget!

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jronmo

32750, FL

Overall
Time saving, great value......

December 11, 2011

I have been installing car audio for years. I would recommend this product to any amateur or expert installer. This was very easy to install and cuts time, compared to creating adapter out of ABS plastic. I have installed in several ford vehicles and was a perfect fit for the application. Thanks!

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jim

CA

Overall
Good

October 31, 2013

These fit my 6.5 inch coaxials in the cutout like they said. I did have to carefully drill new holes where this particular speaker needed to be mounted and it turned out well. There may be some 6.5's that won't fit in the opening, but mine did. They fit the 6x8 opening in the truck perfectly and the screw openings were right on the money.

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

smokey

Port Huron, MI

Overall
These adapters are not usable for most speakers

November 8, 2011

I was trying to use these to install speakers in my 09' Ford Escape. The mounting holes are correct but the speaker cutout is not big enough. Not sure what they used to model the design but not usable for most speakers. The description says they are for 6 1/2" but hole size is undersized. I ended up making my own using 1/2" plywood at a fraction of the cost.

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Daly City, CA

Overall
Cool adapters

February 7, 2011

They didn't fit exactly 100% and that extra thickness pushed the speaker out so the stock grill could not fit. But with some cutting and shaving i got it to fit perfectly! The speaker did fit in it well which was the main thing.

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Kris

Garden City, KS

Overall
Good Adapter!

November 30, 2013

Was able to tap new holes in the plate for mounting a 6.5" woofer (Polk MM 6501) in the doors of my 2014 Mustang. Perfect fit to the factory mounting location.

31 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Darren

Virgin Islands, British

Overall
Clean fit.

June 28, 2012

Installed in a 2005 Ford F150 FX4 supercab.

Clean installation with the Clarion SRG1621R i bought from this website as well, with no cutting or drilling.

30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

From PA

Millersville, PA

Overall
Adapter for 6 x 9 car speakers.

November 21, 2011

Although the speakers were a different size than I had originally planned, I was still able to modify these adapters to fit my application. Just having something sturdy to mount the speakers to before fitting them into the car door is very helpful. Great quality product overall.

31 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Scott

Riverview, FL

Overall
Good product, ok fit.

March 22, 2011

Pretty basic item here. Solid thickness on the mounts. Did not fit great on my 2008 Ford Mustang. I had to force it in place, but it did go in with some effort. Speaker openings were the right size.

29 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Clinton

Grand Forks, ND

Overall
Good speaker adapter

October 1, 2010

I use this with 5.25 inch speakers in the rear of a 1996 Ford F150. It holds the speakers in 6x8 hole very well, but just make sure you use larger screws. To completely seal the speakers, I'd recommend using Dynamat or a similar product to cover the adapter. I also used this with Pioneer 6.5s.

30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

David

San Ysidro, CA

Overall
My concern.

November 7, 2014

In my own experience with this product i'm not feel comfortable because I ordered the Scosche SA68 Adapters for my kicker RS65.2 component but it didn't fit. The holes are smaller than my kickers.

29 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Big Nelly

Canada

Overall
Made me look talented!!!

April 24, 2012

I used these on my Ford Expedition, fit great! I see some people had trouble fitting their 6.5" speakers in, but my Alpine 610's and 610c's fit in easily. For a brief moment I felt like an installer! (They wanted a $100 to put them in. I couldn't afford it.)

28 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

DM

Katy, TX

Overall
Cutting required for 6-1/2" speakers

January 5, 2015

The plates are ready to go if you plan to install 5-1/4" speakers; however you will need a jigsaw to cut the hole bigger if you want to install 6-1/2" speakers.

27 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jacob

Geneseo, IL

Overall
they work!

April 8, 2011

I used these so I could install Polk 6.5" speakers into my 6X8 door holes and they worked fine!

25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Hilo, HI

Overall
Cheap, easy and high quality

April 23, 2008

Very good way to get better sound quality out of you're speakers. I ,like many, prefer and feel that round speakers have a better sound quality than oval ones. A lot of cars only have oval slots for speakers and this is an easy way to solve that problem.

26 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

big216boy

lorain, ohio

Overall
No brainer

January 22, 2012

Fit well with no need for cutting, all holes lined up just as they should! This was great for my custom install.

29 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Los Alamitos, CA

Overall
Did not fit my 6.5in speakers

April 12, 2010

Ordered a set to go along w/ my 6.5in speakers. The speakers were too large for the hole on the SA68. I had to trace the diameter of the speaker on to the SA68s and use a dremel to cut out the difference

24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jason

Chicopee MA

Overall
Great!

September 18, 2009

Great Price. Very durable design. I went looking all over locally to find these at a store. Come to find that NO stores in my area carried ANYTHING like this. Worked Like a Charm Fitting My Speakers to my New car after taking them out of my old one.

25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Vanessa

Barrington, IL

Overall
Does the job

October 9, 2013

What can I say, if you need an adapter to fit your 5 1/4 speakers into a 6x8 opening this is the perfect thing. However, it is hard to fit 6 1/2 inch speakers and requires drilling new holes

23 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

pete

wilm, DE

Overall
perfect

September 8, 2013

These work pefect! Just what I needed! Speakers fit perfect now with no problems, thanks guys!

25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

GML

San Diego, CA

Overall
May Not Fit

November 10, 2012

I bought these to replace a 6x8" speaker with a 6.5" speaker. Unfortunately this bracket is not sufficient, at least for the speaker I chose (JL Audio TR650-CSi). The cut out on the Scosche is a 5" diameter. However, the speaker requires a 5 5/8" diameter. You can modify the bracket by using a dremel or other type of tool to widen the cut-out diameter. However, this would only leave me with about 1/16" on either end after enlarging it enough for the speaker...might as well cut it in half at that point (total height is 5 11/16" on the bracket).

It seems like it would be perfect for a 5 1/4" speaker some 6.5" speakers as well. You just need to make sure it is not too small, otherwise you are better off making your own bracket. All that being said, it is well made and I would recommend it under the proper circumstances.

22 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Denny

Kutztown, PA

Overall
6 1/2s dont fit.

March 22, 2011

basicly 6 1/2s dont fit i had to dremel took the heck out of them to get them to fit. sucks but they r in. the became very flimsy with all the dremeling. maybee work for somthing else but didnt for me

25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Christopher

Vancouver, WA

Overall
not worth it

March 5, 2010

I should have spent the extra time and made my own. I had to take time and do extensive fitting.

22 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joe

Lakeside, CA

Overall
Works great

August 24, 2015

Easy to install and price was right. Better than making your own.

7 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

chad

lagrange, GA

Overall
Do your research

December 10, 2016

These are very good adapters, however i had to modify them for my JL C650 speakers. I didnt do enough research to make sure i was getting the correct ones. But even modifying them was a breeze and they worked great and were a perfect fit in my truck.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

pecos, TX

Overall
Adapter

October 1, 2018

A must have to pit speakers in a 6 x 8 opening. Great buy

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Columbia, MO

Verified Purchase
Overall
Perfect fit!

August 16, 2018

Worked great with my Ford Explorer. Fit right into the factory 6x8 setting and hifonics Zues 5 1/4 speakers fit perfect. Worth the money to upgrade speakers.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Nieco

,

Verified Purchase
Overall
6.5s do not fit!!

March 3, 2016

It doesn't even fit a small 6.5 speaker I tried a alpine sxe-1725s.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

joseph

Elk grove, ca

Overall
Works great for 2013 mazda3

October 15, 2017

Recommend for front and rear doors for 2013 mazda3 and 6.5 polk

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?