Showing 33 reviews for The Install Bay IB500

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
97%
4 Star
3%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
Tim

Tucson, AZ

Overall
Good product

September 25, 2011

I've only had it for a couple days, but it works great so for. I tested it and lets the volts go through like I need to charge the other battery. When I turn the car on you hear a heavy click, witch I have to say I like to hear. For the price and the amp of the relay it's a good buy. I bought this one, because I want to upgrade the alternator on my car. I wish Sonic sold that too, but maybe some day.

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Walter

Omaha, NE

Overall
Keep Ya Batts From Fighting!

July 29, 2013

this 500 amp isolator keep all my batteries from killing each other...don't listen to so-called pros that tell you not to use a isolator! its a must for daily driver systems with this three batteries a 6 farad cap big 3 and a stock 120 amp alternator I never drop below 14 volts

34 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Carlos

Springfield, MA

Overall
excellent product

January 11, 2014

I purchased this product about your gall still work fine what's good about it even before I purchase my baby alternator but it looks good still work fine so I left it in the cart still using it in today recommend it to anybody to buy

29 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Woofers74

Sedro Woolley, WA

Overall
Does Exactly What I Needed It To Do

June 2, 2011

My experience is professional. This 500 amp continuous duty relay does not have the voltage drop that a solid state battery isolator has and does a much better job of charging auxiliary batteries through. This one had the highest amperage rating for the price. It clicks on with a very heavy and solid "thunk" like you would expect from a heavy duty solenoid.

You will need to use an AND gate with this relay, or any other such device so that it isn't energized when you have your ignition switch in the start position or the accessories position. I chose this one for its high capacity to insure a much longer contact life.

I will definitely be buying more of these for future RV and high power sound system needs and would most certainly recommend it to a friend or relative.

30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

mar'key

hawthorne ca

Overall
super battery relay

October 9, 2013

I purchased one that wasn't as good as this one from another distributor
and it caused a lot of problems when it shorted. it took me a while to find out. I recommended that when installing this item you put in the best to avoid problems in the future and make sure the person that works on your car knows what he is doing because you'll regret it. also the price was great and free shipping can't beat that

26 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Rick

Queens, NY

Overall
Best priced high quality

May 9, 2012

After 2 years of using this it still works! Best relay isolator I ever used.

25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jacob

Fishers, IN

Overall
Good isolator

August 16, 2011

Does exactly what it should

25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Fraz

Canada

Overall
works like it should!

June 13, 2014

Keeps my 2000w system running on stinger deep cycles from dipping into the van 's power supply, a nice heavy 'thunk' is heard when the isolator turns on. Bang for your buck and a simple solution for headlight dimming. Only con could be the lack of installation instructions and terminal indication symbols for the first timer.

24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Arlington, TX

Overall
solid product

May 28, 2013

1400 watts of sound system with 250 amp alt with optima yellow top and kinetic batt in trunk. this handles both with ease. really a must for higher powered electronics. Heavy duty unit. Great price for large power handling.

25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

DARKSTAR

NEWELL

Overall
very solid:

February 28, 2013

I installed one of these on my 1997 k1500 last year and i have had. On trouble at all. I installed a backup battery and have had the main battery go dead but with this ib500 it kicked the backup battery in
and the truck started right up. These relays DO NOT FAIL!

24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Boss

Washington, DC

Overall
A++

September 18, 2013

Works great. You can't even hear it activate. I use it with a relatively low power system but I love to bump my music with the engine off so I installed one of these to make sure I don't kill my main battery.

23 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

spillz

atl,Ga

Overall
Great Buy!!

March 31, 2013

I Installed this product in my car 6 months ago and it works great my batterys get more than enough juice to charge them and fast...this is a great add on to multiple battery banks for any application that serves it..I love it...

25 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Minor in Bassology

Baton Rouge, LA

Overall
Great Buy

February 28, 2013

Very sturdy, and easy installation. Have been using this for about 6 months without a relay and i have abused it and still have not had any problems!

24 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Xiola Blue

Laurel, MD

Overall
super review

December 18, 2014

This is one great product. It was very easy to install and work the very first time the way it should. This product is very cost effective. I would recommend this product anyone looking to connect two batteries with high current capabilities.

23 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Great product

Radcliff, Kentucky

Overall
Good stuff

November 2, 2014

Good stuff, good product Product was delivered on time and in good order

21 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

J

NM

Overall
works great

August 30, 2014

Easy install great black shiny color and like all other reviews u can hear a good click when turned on. Makes me feel its of high quality and it obviously is because it works great gave had NO problems since the 5 months its been installed theres no point in buying a 200 when the 500 is like $5 more? Overall great product and website. Definitely recommend both.

22 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

PCNut

Layton UT

Overall
Install Bay IB500

October 15, 2014

Good Product worked great best price online I could find for a relay with 500 amp capacity. Would recommend

19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tyler

Prior Lake, MN

Overall
Isolator

March 14, 2013

Nice and durable. Feels solid. Haven't actually got it to charge my second battery yet but it does isolate them. I think it's because my car's alternator isn't strong enough. Has good connections and the ring terminals I used fit nice and snug. Had some trouble installing it myself due to a slight flaw in it's design (couldn't put bolts as close as I wanted them to be due to the cylinder being a bit too wide). Otherwise no problems.

22 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Venum1

Chicago IL

Overall
Great product, very cheap

November 20, 2014

I bought this to insulate my second battery that I have in the truck witch is smaller than my main battery, it works great it keeps my second battery from discharging my main battery, very easy to install, I would recommend this product to anyone that has 2 different batteries, I have it running for 1 month no problems, 0 gauge cable,

19 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Barry

manteca, CA

Overall
isolater/relay

September 23, 2012

The isolater relay has worked flawlessly for me since i have put it in my pathfinder and it was very easy to install.

20 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jake

Fishers, IN

Overall
Great product

August 21, 2011

Cheap and does what it needs to... Isolates the batteries.

18 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Clarence

Hyattsville, MD

Overall
Great for use with extra battery

January 16, 2014

This worked perfectly for my setup with an extra battery! I use this with a switch when I have my car turned off so I don't drain my main car battery!

16 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

William

Omaha, NE

Overall
Great value !!!

April 6, 2015

The isolator is performing as advertised my volts are stable and light's don't dim.

15 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

john p

morgantown, WV

Overall
grate deal

March 20, 2015

Finally I don't have to pay in arm and a leg for a 500 amp isolator I actually use this for a hidden anti theft device worked great very good product very heavy very well made not a cheap imitation high quality!!!

14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Shorewood, IL

Overall
Battery isolator

February 19, 2019

This is simply a must have if you like to listen to the radio without the car running and not draining the battery under the hood.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

John

Warren, MI

Verified Purchase
Overall
Awesome item great value

August 17, 2017

Good design and well built. I would recommend this item.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Kevin

Ypsilanti, MI

Verified Purchase
Overall
giant relay

April 26, 2017

i had to put a suppression diode on it so it wouldn't destroy the remote output on my head unit, but that's typical for any relay. its been over 6 months and no problems

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Puresound1

Monroe, NC

Verified Purchase
Overall
Gets the job done

December 25, 2016

Works great for isolating my 2 rear batteries from the main starting battery!

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

BigPoppa

Little Elm

Overall
500 amp isolator

June 9, 2016

this dude works very well, i'm running 2 extra batteries with mine, sofar, so good.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Wis.

KISSIMMEE FL.

Overall
Great buy.

August 1, 2020

This is exactly what I was looking for. It works great and the quality is there. Overall good product.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Texas, TX Dallas

Verified Purchase
Overall
Good deal

May 14, 2019

Works as it should installed over a month no issues.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

richard

gloucester, VA

Verified Purchase
Overall
great process

March 26, 2016

I ordered 2 of theses and both arrived promptly and in good shape .well packaged and they work as described. Would recommend this site and product.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Rex

Las Vegas, NV

Verified Purchase
Overall
Beefy and long lasting

November 16, 2020

This isolator is awesome. Ive had it for years with no trouble, does require a diode for it holds quite the charge, when you turn the vehicle off. Dont blow your system, USE A DIODE!

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?