Showing 48 reviews for The Install Bay IBHDCRIMP

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
83%
4 Star
10%
3 Star
2%
2 Star
4%
1 Star
0%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
Nate

amelia, OH

Overall
Awesome buy!

May 18, 2014

Great crimping tool! Makes crimping ring terminals on the ends of larger wires a breeze. Throw in a little solder and you got yourself an un breakable connection!!!

39 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Josh

Sheridan , WY

Overall
works well

September 15, 2014

works well enough for what it is. handy to have around for large 4 and 1/0 gauge wire

40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Artie

Eden, NC

Overall
crimper

June 1, 2014

This crimper works well. I used it on my install and had no problems, nice tight crimps.

37 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Cameron

belleville, IL

Overall
Very useful tool!

July 20, 2014

I was skeptical about how useful this would be to crimp large gauge cable. I purchased a NVX XAPK0 1/0 amp kit and used this to crimp the terminals on the end. It gave me a good strong crimp. It is a little difficult to hold wire in the terminal while you hammer on it, but it is possible and its much easier and better looking solution than the alternative. I am noticing that the top is getting dinged up by the hammer but but its laster so far and I have done a lot of crimps since I bought it.

38 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

S.

Canada

Overall
Great product

June 4, 2014

I you use copper terminal, go for this tool. It make a really clean job.
If you use Gold plate ring, it will tend to open instead of crimping. Overall a great inexpensive tool.

34 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Hound

Fl

Overall
Good tool

April 6, 2014

Thx Over all great tool needed Good shipping good product + +. + + + + +

35 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

03 Xtreme

Pensacola, FL

Overall
Works great

December 23, 2012

I was hesitant at first but the only other option was a hydraulic crimper. Very durable and has worked great on some 4 & 8 awg and about to use it some 1/0. Does what it's supposed to do.

35 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

tj

midwest USA

Overall
hammer style crimper

August 14, 2014

this crimper made installing the 4 gauge ring terminal on the 4 AWG wire a breeze. a few wacks and the terminal was secure and not coming off. not too big but very well constructed with all metal parts very durable. i can imagine trying to use hand crimpers LOL

34 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

RAFAEL

LAWRENCEVILLE, NJ

Overall
good product

May 7, 2014

good product, good value great service. it did the job i need it done.

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Antwone

Bloomington, IL

Overall
i love this thing!!!

June 13, 2014

At first i was kinda shaky about ordering this but after i got it wow it was very easy to use and i love it!!!

32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Charlie

Lafayette, TN

Overall
Awesome Product!!

July 29, 2013

I have used other crimpers in the past that seem to take more effort in the crimping process and also tear up prematurely. This one on the other hand is very tough and heavy well made and holds the terminal in place as you commence to hammering down on it with no worries as to mash your fingers. This is a must for any BassHead!! one side note the pin used to hold the spring in place and to also raise the crimp may get loose after some heavy usage but no worries you can just tap it back in with the hammer and its good as new

30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

TONY

Galloway, OH

Overall
Great Little Crimper!

June 12, 2013

The IBHDCRIMP is a great little crimper. A really good deal for the money.

30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

marshall

Ludington, MI

Overall
didnt like it broke right away

April 24, 2014

got it in went to use it and roll pin broke on second hit took it to work and fixed myself with stronger roll pin great shipping with company real fast

29 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Graham

Kennesaw, GA

Overall
Great for crimping 1/0 awg wire.

April 4, 2014

This crimper is very solid and heavy feeling. I am never afraid to beat hard on it with a hammer. I don't know if the description says this, but the crimper has a very strong spring loaded point to hold the wire securely in place when crimping. No complaints. I would recommend this to anyone working with zero gauge wire. This is worth the money! You won't be able to attach ring terminals or other add-ons this securely without this tool

30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

BOBBYBASSHEAD

Bridgeport,Texas

Overall
Crimp GOOD STUFF

February 24, 2014

This Crimper Is a time Saver, Fast and Easy to use. Get yours today and see for your Self how strong the crimped ends are

29 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Rick

Sandyville, WV

Overall
Install Bay Hammer Crimper

March 8, 2015

I bought this crimper about a month ago to crimp a bunch of 0awg wire. I have used it a lot and had no problems with it. It works great. I have done 2 big 4 wire upgrades in both of my vehicles and it has been a life saver. It crimps 0awg as well as 4awg with no problems. I wouldn't drop it on concrete because the main casing is cast and might break. That's the only possible con I can think of. All pro's from me I would recommend. Great tool, great price, and as always Sonicelectronix.com has the best customer service bar none. Thanks Sonicelectronix.com

22 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Thomas

Somewhere, MN

Verified Purchase
Overall
Hulk SMASH!!!!!!

May 10, 2015

This is a must have for large wire. It's really fun to get out the mini sledge and start swinging.

20 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

kertton

Canyon country, CA

Overall
The Install Bay IBHDCRIMP

May 5, 2015

makes clamping large wire very easy. I would recommend to a friend

20 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Necelito

Springfield Gardens, NY

Verified Purchase
Overall
crimper

August 14, 2015

Best puncher crimper ever I will recommend to my friends and will buy more for my future shop as its very chip

12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tad

Belgrade, MT

Verified Purchase
Overall
Works

August 30, 2015

But barely, works about as good as my hand crimpers. Definitely not good for 0 gauge.

9 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

dale

valencia, PA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Best tool ever

April 14, 2016

Been doing systems for years do not know why I never invested in this sweet tool

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jon

fla

Overall
hd crimp

November 19, 2015

it works well and is easy to use. needs a set of instructions for the less learned .

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

ramon

Huachuca City, AZ

Overall
Good press

October 31, 2015

This would totally make life so much easier, this press its easy to carry around and it would press terminals as good as you hammmer it down, I use it for 0 Gage wire terminals and it did fabulous, well havy duty build I don't hesitate on hammering down on it to get a good connection and it handles it good

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Manitowoc, WI

Verified Purchase
Overall
The Install Bay IBHDCRIMP

April 11, 2019

This tool is hands down a must have tool for crimping terminals! The price you cant complain because it crimps from 8g to 0g terminal!

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Columbia, SC

Verified Purchase
Overall
The Install Bay IBHDCRIMP

July 20, 2018

This small and simple tool creates an extremely tight crimp. I would recommend this product to anyone needing to make crimps larger than a 10 gauge.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Lafayette, La

Overall
The Install Bay IBHDCRIMP

May 24, 2018

It is what is... hammer away and your crimps shall stay!! So far so good!!

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Juan

San Antonio, TX

Overall
Great

November 15, 2017

Product looks and works great. I used it for my big three kit.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jon

Tyrone, PA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Easy to use

October 1, 2017

If you are crimping terminals on large wire, this is a necessity.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Nick

Bethany, OK

Verified Purchase
Overall
Worth the money

July 13, 2017

This is a heavy duty tool that will last and its easy to use!

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Rennison

New York, NY

Verified Purchase
Overall
The Install Bay IBHDCRIMP

February 21, 2017

Don't know why I didn't buy this sooner. Works great, You won't be disappointed.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Kenny

kenton, TN

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great Value

January 31, 2017

I would definitely recommend this tool although alittle difficult to use alone.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Antonio

Austin, TX

Overall
Install Bay IBHDCRIMP

October 9, 2016

Its a must have for any installer, its the simple. strong, durable and easy to use.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Randy

Carrollton, GA

Overall
Good quality

August 1, 2016

I used this crimper to crimp zero gauge cable, it worked great

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

mohammed

Hamtramck, MI

Overall
O gauge wire crimper tool

March 29, 2016

Easy to use and does a great job crimping terminals

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Chad

Kalaheo, HI

Verified Purchase
Overall
great value

June 14, 2020

Recommend!
a must-have when working with 1/0 gauge wire. Gives you a very solid connection.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Seattle, WA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Easy to use, creates a really nice crimp!

November 16, 2019

It's expensive, but it's really well built. It will last probably forever, and it creates a really solid electrical connection.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Hot Springs, AR

Overall
Perfect for the job

September 1, 2019

For once doing it right involves hitting things with a hammer. So glad I got this! Toss a small length of solder in with the wires before crimping and it's a perfect connection.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Evansville, IN

Verified Purchase
Overall
The Install Bay IBHDCRIMP

June 18, 2018

This tool works great. Now I don't have to take my cables to work and have a buddy in maintenance crimp on the connectors.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

kingman, AZ

Verified Purchase
Overall
The Install Bay IBHDCRIMP

June 9, 2018

This little tool is well built and works with just a few wacks with a hammer and a little solder and you have a great tight fit that will last forever, the only down side i will only use it for 3 large gauge cables in my big 3 upgrade . But a friend may need to use it one day .

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Ron

Colorado Springs, CO

Overall
Works as it should.

March 16, 2018

I thought this would be a lot larger than it was. It worked great to install ring terminals on 1/0 awg wire. Would definitely recommend this to someone that frequently does car audio work.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jarad

Panama City, FL

Verified Purchase
Overall
Excellent tool for the money!

August 24, 2017

This hammer cabel crimpper does an excellent job. I was sure it would be effective with open-ended, split ring terminals (works great), but was not sure about the closed-ended, thicker copper, ring terminals. It does a GREAT job with both. I use a rubber mallot and get perfect results.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Isai

odessa, TX

Overall
Does its job.

August 17, 2016

Not the prettiest way to put on clamps but it does its job.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Randy

Carrollton, GA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Good quality

July 30, 2016

I used this crimper to crimp zero gauge cable, it worked great

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Elyria, OH

Overall
Awesome tool

July 8, 2016

Awesome tool easy for crimping 0 gauge terminals! Also much better than soldering your connections

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joe

Pa

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great Crimper

January 26, 2016

I have been using this Crimp tool for a few months now. I like it so much I've purchased two more. Works very good even with larger wire (1/0). If used correctly it will create a unbreakable connection. Performed many pull and strength tests with the Crimps. A++

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Cumming, GA

Verified Purchase
Overall
The Install Bay IBHDCRIMP

May 13, 2018

This product is a great buy.. Will do the job

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Javier

Fresno, CA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Sneaky good product

April 7, 2017

Was kind of skeptical about the price, but surprisingly impressed with the quality of this tool.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Casper

Streets of, KS

Verified Purchase
Overall
Heavy Duty

December 9, 2015

Obviously there are better crimpers on the market, but solid and easy to use. Watch out though she likes to bite fingers if your not paying attention.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?