Showing 43 reviews for XPT100 Audiophile Over-Ear Pro Studio Monitor Headphones + Case

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
79%
4 Star
21%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
CrazyRainbows

San Antonio, TX

Overall
Great and comfortable pair of headphones!

September 29, 2014

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

By no means am I an audiophile, but I feel I can still appreciate the sound of some good 'phones.

The NVX's are extremely comfortable to wear, even for long periods of time and with eyeglasses (I'm an all-day wearing of my specs so this was important!). My ears never feel sweaty or like my skull is weighed down while they're on. They're actually a pleasure to wear!

They feel sturdy so far, but I'm not rough on any of my possessions so I can't speak for how well they'll stand up to drops and such. They're bulky though and not exactly the greatest things to wear around in public. The XPTs are large and noticeable from far off, but if you're okay with that these babies are more than worth that small shortcoming.

As far as sound goes, they seem very balanced to me. No single tone seems to outshine the other at any point; the bass is warm but not loud, vocals shine but aren't overpowering, and you can definitely hear every instrument in a song without any of them feeling muddied or muffled by another. The bass is clear in rap songs where it's needed and invisible in songs where it's not, which is another huge point for them. In all I love these headphones and feel like I couldn't have made a better choice in buying them.

111 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Misfit

San Diego, CA

Overall
Great headphones

December 31, 2014

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Performance vs price this is a great value. Excellent range. Very comfortable. L/R plugs - one is all black the other has a gray stripe. Gray goes on the right (not stated in the manual.)

97 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tim

Fullerton, CA

Overall
Excellent Studio Headphones

October 23, 2012

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These headphones are flat out amazing. They firmly, yet comfortably, cup your ears so you are isolated in the experience. They are soft and will not make your ears over heat. The large 42mm neodymium drivers deliver the 10hz-26khz sound and expose parts of songs I had never heard before. I thoroughly enjoy my music, or I can really work in these to deliver an accurate mix to a client in whatever environment I am mixing in. With the warranty and all the extras they come with you would really be doing yourself a disservice to not at least take a listen. I'm buying a second set.

98 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Tallahassee, FL

Overall
Great Headphones

October 14, 2013

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These headphones are incredibly neutral, balanced, easy to drive and the best headphones for $100 I think I've ever used and I have experienced many high end $500+ headphones as well as $100 headphones

94 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Artie

Eden, NC

Overall
Good deal

January 1, 2015

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

NVX, what else do I need to say? Good sounding head phones.

92 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Elvin

Philippines

Overall
Very Comfortable Cushion

May 27, 2013

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Very soft and very comfortable cushion. It gives no pain/stress in my ears. What I don't like about this headphone is the build, the headband is so flexible.

88 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Atco, NJ

Overall
A hard to beat buy

November 21, 2014

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Simply put the NVX XPT100 are, in my opinion, the headphone to purchase in the ~$100 range. They provide a sound that's compared to headphones 3 times it's price while severely outclassing every closed headphone in it's price range, again in my opinion. As a complete package the XPT100 are astonishing headphones, the inclusion of angled pads and a second set of cables is icing on the cake.

If you have any concerns about the quality of these, please drop them at the door and order a pair if you want a balanced closed headphone at an excellent price.

88 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Darknecron

Oregon

Overall
Best reference headphones under $150. Period.

February 3, 2014

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These make the legendary-status Creative Aurvana Live! ($60 to $80) sound bad. That said, there is no headphone currently near this price that will deliver the same neutrality, accuracy, control, or comfort that the XPT100s do.

I could do an extensive comparison between these and the other sets of headphones I own (CAL!, ATH-M50, Panasonic HTF600, Marley EM-JH020-MI, I could go on), but I won't because there is simply nothing to compare. These win in every aspect except for portability. The cheapest headphone that compares to the NVX XPT100 is the $170 Sennheiser HD25-II 1.

If you are looking for at-home listening cans, buy these now. You needn't spend any more time reading reviews, finding comparisons, or doing any other kind of research.

91 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Dave

Knoxville

Overall
Nvx for the win

December 20, 2013

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great headphones , good construction and terrific sound. nvx did not let me down on this product.I am extremely pleased with this product and would recommend these to friends and family.These are by far the most comfortable headphones I have ever used.I got these in a package deal with the nvx earbuds and while I was unimpressed with the earbuds the headphones made it all good for me.

85 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Scott

Spicer, MN

Overall
Great Headphones

September 17, 2013

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These are very good Headphones and work great with Laptop.

85 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Emin

Las Vegas

Overall
Very Comfortable and Good Sound Quality

August 4, 2014

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I've been using in-ear headphones for a long time and I wasn't sure about over-ear headphones. But with XPT100 you'll get a great sound for the money and it's so comfortable you'll want to keep them on your ears even when you're not listening.

83 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

John Carey

LA

Overall
LOVE!

September 10, 2012

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These are amazing! They are very comfortable, have incredible sound quality, and have a slick design. Also, extreme quality of these headphone insure me they'll never wear out -- like so many other brands.

78 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

MNBA

Brunei Darussalam

Overall
Best buy

January 2, 2015

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Nice and comfort over the ear headphone from NVX. Recommended product. The disadvantage - unable to rotate them.

79 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Andy

Redlands, CA

Overall
Love them!

March 18, 2014

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I love them! They are more then comfortable. The clamp is light and the cushions feel like leather pillows wrapped around your ears. I really like the appearance of them, totally my style with that dark brushed look. Some have complained about the super flexy headband, but I actually like it. Some have also complained about the big carrying case, but I actually like that too; I throw it in my gym bag with everything else on a daily basis for work and I know they're safe. I guess my ONLY complaint, and a small one at that, is that on devices that don't output allot of power will make you wanting the volume louder when already maxed out. But, I will probably be getting a portable amp/dac combo for that. also, the extra angled ear pads i found nice when laying down, because you can tilt the headphones foward and still have a proper fit.

as for the sound: clear and clean. these are very nuetral headphones, which makes them very versitile. youtube/netflix is great due to this. also, i am a little sensative to high treble, and these headphones let me listen without discomfort. it's exactly what i wanted, nuetral sound with easy-to-listen treble, and clean bass ( i don't listen to rap or anything, and i don't like over-done, muddy deep bass ) and extremely comfortable. for the price, get these no questions asked.

82 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Owen

LA, CA

Overall
Very nice

August 28, 2013

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I've been using these headphones for the past several months and they have really grown on me. I had previously been using HD280 pros and M50s for my monitoring but these have fit right in with my standard issue headphones. The angled ear pads make this more comfortable than my others so i find that i'm using them more. I'd recommend them.

77 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

drabina

NJ

Overall
No need to look further if your budget is up to $100

April 14, 2014

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I have tried few headphones before settling with the XPT100s. What I like about them is:

1. Comfort - You will not forget that you have them on but the padding is very generous and does not put pressure on your ears in any spots. Though due to their size they are not suitable for outdoor use unless you do not care how you look. At home - very comfy.

2. Large ear cups - I like when headphones do not touch my ears and they are perfect in this area.

3. Sound - Very natural sounding and easy to listen to. There are no harsh highs or booming lows. Soundstage is somewhat lacking but that can be expected from a closed headphones. Overall you can listen to them for hours without fatigue.

4. Isolation - They isolate very well. I guess that's due to the large ear cups and extra padding.

5. Short cable (in an addition to a long cable) - Good when your main use is laptop or mp3 player so you do not have to trip over extra feet of cable.

So far I have no dislikes. I haven't rated durability as I own them only for a few weeks. So far they have held up pretty well. NOTE: I put 3 out of 5 (middle) just because I can't submit no rating.

I would highly recommend them if you want good home headphones on a limited budget.

81 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Tallahassee, FL

Overall
Excellent, maximum bang for your buck!

September 17, 2013

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Prior headphones: Senn HD650, grado sr325is, where se530, audio technical es7, vmoda m100

These headphones are very impressive. Out of all my headphones, these are the most neutral. They have a decent soundstage that doesn't get congested. Their sound is the most versatile, doing justice to all varieties of music, faithfully. They benefit from amping, but don't need anything powerful. Unless you have a solid DAC/amp, these are superior to even the senn 650s. I've never purchased a headphone that was as worthy as these, given they're only 100 dollars. Compared to the $300 M100s, these are absolutely superior. These lack any strong coloration, which depending on what you're looking for, may sound dull at first.

The construction feels a little flimsy at first, and they could be a little tighter( build wise, not fit). However the trade off is these are incredibly light, and very comfortable ( I personally prefer the default flat pads).

Bottom line: if you're looking for a cheap jump into the headphone world, honestly look no further-

I've also heard where 840s, Sony MDR v6, audio technical m50s, akg k240s. None of them provide such textured bass, smooth mids, and detailed treble, with such comfort and low amp requirements for $100. Lack of portability is the only limitation. Get 'em!

75 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Gope

Redding, CT

Overall
Great Value

March 20, 2015

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Got this one during President's Day sale and I would say it is the best bang for the buck. Sound stage is outstanding. Good all-arounder. Pads are comfy but get a little warm after an hour or two. If you want a fuller, punchier bass, you might wanna consider something else though.

70 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Cameron

Mocksville, NC

Overall
amazing!!!

October 10, 2013

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

amazing product. the quality is great. the feel is great. the sound is unmatched. and better then anything i have ever had before

73 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tom

Los Angeles, CA

Overall
Awesome headphones

August 29, 2012

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These headphones are awesome. The sound is better than any other headphones I have every used and they are comfortable enough to wear for hours. The noise reduction is so good I can’t hear my wife yelling at me in the background. They give a whole new meaning to drowning in sound. I can't wait to use them on long plane trips.

71 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

anon

anywhere, USA

Overall
great headphones

March 21, 2014

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Great headphones. The sound is awesome. The only con is that they're not collapsible and are not good for mobile use.

68 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Leo

Los Angeles, CA

Overall
Great!!

October 14, 2014

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Very comfortable and good sound. For the price, I don't think you can find any better headphones

70 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

SanJose Bill

San Jose, CA

Overall
Great sound, great comfort

June 6, 2015

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

It has been years since I have used headphones. That being said, these sound great to me. The sound is very clear and somewhat neutral - no range (bass, mid range, treble) seems to be emphasized. They are extremely comfortable. I can also use them with my computer (or wife's iPad) without added amplification. The only drawback I see is that they are somewhat bulky - I probably won't be using them for travel, though they do come with a large travel case.

46 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Benj

Canada

Overall
Excellent gift

December 28, 2014

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

The first thing my son did was to try them on with the flat pads ... then he changed it with the angled pads. He simply loves them.
The sound of this headset is so great that I have to yell twice to call him diner's ready... :-(
But it really was a great Christmas grift. My son says they do exactly what their website says and that was the reason he chose them.

52 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

CelestialTrick

Madison, AL

Verified Purchase
Overall
Amazing Sound Quality

June 21, 2015

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I got these headphones to replace a Sony MDR-XB500 that I've had for 3 years and wanted something different. As of now, I've owned these headphones for a month, and I must say that NVX has made one of the best headphones I've ever experienced. The characteristics of these headphones include:

- Very Lightweight
- Studio Grade Sound Quality
- Soft/Smooth Leather Cups

Comparing these to the Sony I had before, it has a much more clearer sound response, but the bass isn't as strong as the Sony. Don't get me wrong though; these headphones can hit subsonic notes and still sound somewhat loud on the bass.

I also use these headphones for music production with FL Studio. When experimenting with sounds, you can hear the slightest irregularity in uncorrected sounds to allow you to produce better sounds.

Needless say if you have considered these headphones, but hesitant to get one, you won't be disappointed.

30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

ayy mcLmao

Israel

Overall
dank af tbqh

October 22, 2015

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Pretty comfy, good sound, good cables and stuff, not too pricey, 11/10 would recommend

11 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

JRATT

Great Falls, MT

Overall
Great Headphones, BUT

October 3, 2015

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I love the sound of these headphones. But the short 1.3 meter cable was bad , lucky they also came with a 3 meter cable. No replacement cable on NVX site. Found Brianwavz HM5 cable on mp4ntion.com for $9.50 free shipping. from Hong Kong. Received the new cable in 15 days. Works great.
I do not think anyone could go wrong with buying these, I listen to them for hours at a time with zero problems. I remember buying headphones for $50 back in the 80s (a lot for me then) that did not sound this good. $80 was a bargain and with the $5 refund for the bad cable, just cake.

8 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Katherine

Houston, Texas

Overall
Best under $100

May 5, 2016

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These are some of the most comfortable headphones ever;super plush pads. For under $100 they are some of the best overall value. Good sound

6 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

ilijas94

Canada

Overall
NVX Audio XPT100

January 19, 2017

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Once burnt in the sound is beautifully full and clear... The instruments are separated, and once i increased slightly bass frequency the headphones become the ultimate listening experience for anywhere close price range. The cushions are super comfy and I can wear them for a super long periods of time.
Highly recommended.

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Cristan

$city, $state

Verified Purchase
Overall
Mixed Blessing

February 28, 2018

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Have you been sent to the couch lately? these should be there for those times when some light shines through and others when they are just as miserable as you can be.. don't have a best or worst thing to say, they are sometimes source dependent Amp/Dac or not, they have presence for sure.. are boxy sounding at times and suprisingly open in some cases.
I would go ahead and pick'em up for the price jjust because you know your going to do something wrong.. these are right enough!

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Srini

San Jose, CA

Overall
Great value for money

October 12, 2016

The following review is for HPCX2, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I'd recommend this because it is a great value for money. The build quality is very good, and it can accommodate large headsets also. I own a Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro and it fits comfortably. The case material is sturdy and is built to protect the headphones and last for a long time.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Charles

Benton, KY

Verified Purchase
Overall
Worth everything it cost

February 16, 2016

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Would I pay MSRP? Yes... the cost on sonic make them even more of a steal, i'm wondering why i didn't buy them sooner, I am just completely lost in my music, the bass is good, the trebles are crisp, and everything is where it should be. They are on the larger end of the spectrum given its size, but the large size means comfort, right? in this case, yes, these are the most comfortable headphones you'll wear ever. I've worn turtle beach, bose, and beats audio headphones (beats audio is horrible). These are better at comfort and sound in both turtle beach and bose, and it's no competition when compared to beats audio.

There are some great features on these headphones found only on other higher end sets that cost 3 or 4 times what these cost, like removable cables, a custom case, different style drop in ear muffs, and made of completely of metal. Never have i heard music as good as this, and never will you hear music as good as this.

- Overall a 5 (i'm a huge NVX fan, basically NVX everything for audio)
- Value, given this is a $200 set of phones for $80, definite 5 and i would stay pay $200 for these
- Durability is a solid 5, the flexible head bridge I was able to twist with little effort and it just whipped right back into place, so will not break easily
- Features is a solid 5, different lengthed cables and two ear muff styles to suit your needs, definitely has more features than some $300+ phones
- Ease of use I am only giving a 4, the jacks that attach to the cans aren't letter labeled, so i had to go into the manual to find that grey is left and black is right. it also takes a bit of force to get them to pop in, this should become easier with time.

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

kev

Canada

Overall
arrived on time and work great

November 16, 2015

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

If you are like me you found theae from doing research on the most comfortable headphones for the price. They did not disappoint. Smart buy.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Nicky

Canada

Overall
Highly Recommended

July 10, 2017

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These headphones are awesome, very clean and balanced sound when listening to anything from music to movies. Easily the best sound experience I’ve had with a pair of headphones, and also really comfortable. They do a good job of blocking ambient sound, too, so you can get really immersed in what you're listening to.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Justin

Rogers arkansas

Overall
Good quality

May 28, 2017

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Not going to say they are the best. Ive heard different things on reviews. They are infact uncomfortable to wear with regular glasses. They did infact make my ears sweat. Sound quality is great.

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Broderick

Midland, MI

Overall
Not What I Was Hoping For

March 2, 2016

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Given all of the reviews I read on the NVX Audi XPT100 headhones and how so many people thought they were amazing, I was thoroughly disappointed.

I was buying these to replace my Sony MDR-XB500 headphones as they're getting old and starting to wear out (I've had them for about 5 years now). After switching back and forth between the XB500s and the XPT100s, listening to the same part of the same song and keeping the volume exactly the same, the XB500s are better.

Between my father and I, we have around $50-60,000 worth of home audio equipment (surround sound, vacuum tube amplifiers, high-end this, high-end that and so on). I wouldn't quite go as far as to call myself an audiophile, but I am really picky when it comes to my headphones, and the XPT100s didn't quite reach my standards. I'm not saying they're bad headphones, I'm just saying the XB500s perform better for what I like.

For lows, the XPT100s are rated to 10Hz whereas the XB500s are rated to 4Hz. Granted, average human hearing is only down to about 20Hz or so, but as the frequencies drop below 30Hz, the XPT100s fizzle out and stop producing low frequencies while the XB500s power straight through and rattle your entire head.

For volume output, the XPT100s aren't quite as efficient as the XB500s. Keeping the volume the same on my laptop/headphone amp, and the XB500s produce more sound on the same power. And as I increased the power higher and higher, the XPT100s began to distort much sooner than the XB500s did.

Also, everyone raved about how comfortable the XPT100s were, but (again, in my opinion and what I've been using for the past 5 years), compared to the XB500s, the XPT100s felt cheap, with minimal cushion on the ear cups.



All in all, they are decent headphones, but compared to what I've been used to for the past 5 years, the NVX Audio XPT100s are no match for the Sony MDR XB500s.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

VoraofFJ

Atlanta, Georgia

Overall
Is gud.

February 10, 2016

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Very comfortable and great quality of sound. Would recommend to friend.

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Xatalic

Canada

Overall
Great headphones.

December 18, 2015

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Good sound, extremely comfortable, I like the two cables in each ear rather than just one, I use it with a Zalman mic and it's incredible. The sound is very, very decent.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Maheedhar

Henrico, VA

Overall
Great headphone with lots of accessories

October 26, 2015

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I own a ton of headphones. Opening the box of XPT100 makes me feel like I got a lot for my money. Definitely nice to see ton of goodies in the box. An extra set of pads is something I appreciate a lot.
Headphone fits my relatively big head comfortably. As a comparision DT880 premium doesn't fit my head as easily as these.
Sound is neutral. I still haven't listened to these extensively. So I might come back later to update this review.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Colorado Springs, CO

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great quality for price

June 29, 2019

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

Good sound quality, especially at this price point. I have been using for 6 years and the headband and long cable finally broke on me, but it is easy enough to replace. These do cancel outside noise very well, which is awesome.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

B

Chicago

Overall
Great neutral headphones

February 21, 2016

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

These are some of the best headphones you can get in the price range, especially if you're looking for something neutral.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Carole

Australia

Overall
Great Headphones!

December 3, 2017

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

The XPT-100 are great value headphones for the price. Comfortable fit, noise cancelling, good base and tone. They are sturdy and the ability to purchase replacement headbands is very handy.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Ezekiel

Venice, CA

Overall
Excellent audio quality, don't miss my active noise cancelation

July 28, 2016

The following review is for XPT100, which is a part of the bundle you are viewing.

I was skeptical/hesitant to get these because I had some top of the line Able Planet active noise canceling headphones that were double the price, but I've heard a lot so I decided to bite since my Able Planets were falling apart after years of use.

The NVX cans sound great -- better than my dated Able Planets now compared side by side -- and the build quality seems similar. Don't even need the active noise canceling because the ear cups fit snugly and nicely and the sound is so full.

Note that the black marked cable is for the left phone, and the grey marked cable is for the right.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?