Showing 18 reviews for iSimple AuxBox (PXDX)

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
61%
4 Star
28%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
6%
1 Star
6%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
Mark

Missoula, MT

Overall
Worked great

April 17, 2014

I was able to add an auxillary without splicing. Just plug and play!

40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

satisfied customer

Houston, TX

Overall
great product

October 13, 2010

Along with the PAC AB-TOYX, just what I needed to give my 05 Prius a 1/8' mini stereo input.

40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Theron

Douglasville, GA

Overall
Works unless powering MP3 Player from an Inverter. sine wave causes static in stereo

September 9, 2010

This product does work as advertised. The sound quality is good but the input sensitivity is weak so that the MP3 player's volume must be turned nearly all the way up. Also when powering the MP3 player with a power inverter the device passes static from the sine wave through to the stereo.

41 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Rafael

Montebello, CA

Overall
Awesome unit! Great price!

September 17, 2013

I searched the internet for the best price. I found it! The unit itself works flawlessly. Plug and play.

35 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Itchy

Bethlehem, PA

Overall
Works Great!

July 14, 2012

Ordered the PXDX for a 2004 Honda Odyssey so my wife could use her MP3 player in the car. I ordered the correct cable to connect the unit to the factory in-dash radio/cd player. The installation was simple and quick. Bottom line, it works great!

34 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jared

Iowa

Overall
Good Product

September 28, 2010

Purchase was good, while I was sent the wrong harness, they sent the correct one out asap. I get a little ticking from the unit, but I love having the ability to input music.

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

James

Kula, HI

Overall
Works

March 4, 2013

This product works, but since it was designed for a wide range of autos, there can be quirks. For example, the sound levels it produces are lower than other sources in our car, so when we switch to using it as a source, we have to turn the master volume way up (and remember to turn it down afterwards!) Overall, happy I purchased it!

34 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Robert

Granger, IN

Overall
Simple Aux Box

January 10, 2011

This is the perfect way to be able use an external mp3 , iPod or satellite radio with you stock C5 Corvette radio. Simple installation, works perfectly! Perfect solution to use your stock radio.

34 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

CharlesS.

Bryson City, NC

Overall
Does what it says.

November 7, 2013

I purchased this device to add to the stock sound system in a 2001 Ford Expedition so that we can play Pandora radio from our smart phone through the stock system in the vehicle. iSimple makes decent products, however product support is weak. Our vehicle has the Premium sound option with a remote amplifier. The sound quality is decent for a stock system. Our system is NOT the MACH system with the factory subwoofer, but has four 5x7 speakers in the four doors. The vehicle is our winter bad weather car, as it is AWD. It is in good condition, but is too old to spend several hundred dollars outfitting it with an expensive aftermarket system.

The HU is an AM/FM Cassette with a remote 6 disc CD changer. iSimple says that the interface will only work with the CD player disconnected from the HU. Several sources on the internet say that the interface will work with the remote CD changer connected. The wiring harnese has a provision to plug the CD player in, however the unit will not link up with the HU unless the CD player is disconnected. The only reason that I can think of that the harnese has a provision for an additional connection is that iSimple did not know if it would work until they produced the product and found out that it will not work with the remote CD player connected.

We live in a very remote area with no radio stations, and we still play CD's most of the time. We wanted to be able to play Pandora internet radio when we travel, but still want the CD player to work as using internet radio every day will costs me extra data on my phone plan, and this expense is something I want to minimize.

Since I had to sacrafice my remote CD player, I decided to upgrade to a OEM Ford CD6 system with the CD player built into the unit. The interface works well with this HU, however the HU flashes 01:00/02:00 while it is connedted and operating. From feedback that other owners have posted this is a common issue, and does not effect the performance of the system.

Sound quality is good, and is clear. The volume level is loud, but no where near the level that the system will play from the CD's or from the radio.

iSimple says to connect the interface to a constant 12 volt power supply, however several people who have installed these say that they will drain the battery. So I connected mine to a switched 12 volt source, and it works just fine. It just means that the interface has to boot up everytime it is used, but that does not cause a problem with it.

34 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mikey

Minneapolis, MN

Overall
Great Product at a great price!

September 14, 2012

I have used this product for 6 months in my 2000 Corvette and it has worked flawlessly. Sound is very good since it is a direct connection to the Audio input rather than an FM broadcast.

34 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

John

Cambridge Springs, PA

Overall
Installed and works great

June 1, 2012

I installed this in a 2004 Vibe along with iSimple PXHGM3.
Installation was straight forward.
Product allows for music input from about any device - in my case a Zune.

30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

josh

porter, TX

Overall
Product review

July 8, 2013

Sorry I was completely disappointed the module played bad with all electronics within my vehicle and after a month just quit working, sorry I can't recommend this product to anyone.

29 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Roy

Mountlake Terrace, WA

Overall
Works just as described

October 10, 2011

I have only tested the unit. It is not yet fully installed. It works great with my iPod Shuffle, using an iPod plug adaptor to connect it to the mini plug. I did hear a couple pops, but it could have been my temperary lash-up.

28 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Stubb

Escondido, CA

Overall
Annoying Tick

July 18, 2015

I installed this in a 2001 Dodge Durango using the PXHCH2 harness adapter as indicated to hook this to the external CD changer control. The unit makes an annoying tick about every 3-5 seconds or so. I tracked it down to the unit itself. I checked the dip switch configuration and also tried the alternate Chrysler configuration. This cured the tick but prevented the head unit from switching to the unit, so that was not an alternative. I can associate the sound with the cd track indicator switching from 1 and 2 constantly but there doesn't seem to be any way to stop the tick. It's OK if you are playing some loud music, but in between songs or during quiet songs, the tick makes the listening impossible. Five stars otherwise because the tick excepted, the sound quality is great and its easy to install if you are good with a screw driver and have a little patience. Hopefully PAC can tell me what the deal is.

18 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Joseph

Daytona Beach, FL

Overall
Good buy!

October 16, 2016

Awesome way to keep your factory radio features (i.e. volume increasing with speed driven) while connecting to updates electronics. Although tends to have a digital feedback sounds sometimes.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Olathe, KS

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great alternative to hacking up your Monsoon/GM radio

May 5, 2019

Plugs in place of your CD changer at the back of the radio, has a small footprint (easy to hide), easy to select from the radio and it sounds fantastic. No clicking noises like some have run into. Not much else to say other than it works perfect!

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

FW

CommackCommack, NY

Verified Purchase
Overall
iSimple PXDX and iSimple PXHGM4 installation for my 2003 Z06 Corvette

May 12, 2017

I just installed the iSimple AuxBox PXDX in my 2003 Z06 Corvette and it's absolutely fantastic. My stock Delco Bose radio did not have a factory Aux port. I installed this product along with the iSimple PXHGM4 harness and another iSimple adapter that I purchased separately and it works great. I ran the aux port into my armrest compartment and drilled a hole right next to the power port. Use the iSimple PXHGM4 harness if you DO NOT have a CD disc changer in the trunk. The install took me about two hours and I followed an instruction video on YouTube. I am very pleased with this product and I highly recommend Sonic Electronix. Thank you.

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Garrison, NY

Overall
iSimple AuxBox (PXDX)

December 9, 2019

This is a very simple device to install and comes with very good instructions. Although I had to buy the needed cable for my application off eBay as it was not available on Sonic, this unit installed in just a few minutes and was a perfect solution for my 2002 Jaguar S-Type.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?