Showing 20 reviews for iSimple Gateway ISGM575

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
70%
4 Star
15%
3 Star
10%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
5%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
Arba

Chicago, IL

Overall
Works for me

April 24, 2012

Needed to extend features of our factory radio without replacing the radio.

46 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Steve

NY

Overall
Awesome Product!!

September 26, 2010

I am writing this review based on installing the item myself into my 2005 Buick Rendezvous:
I purchased the iSimple because, like many of you out there, I wanted to listen to my iPod through the radio. FM transmitters just plain stink for sound quality, so that is completely out. I also ran into the problem that I couldn't install my aftermarket stereo without loosing all of my safety chimes, steering wheel controls and on-star (class 2 factory radio), unless I wanted to pay up the WAZOO for all sorts of extra adapters and harnesses. I took a shot with the iSimple ISGM575, because it offered a way to hook the iPod up to the factory radio without loosing any of the functions of the factory radio like on-star... and it was the BEST choice I could have made.
Here's why:
Pro's: Other than the fact that my rendezvous' dash was a PAIN in the butt to remove, the installation was so very easy, just unplug, connect and bam! A 12 foot iPod cord gave me the option to put the connection virtually anywhere I wanted in the car. You have the choice of selecting the iPod direct connect to allow control of the iPod from the factory stereo controls AND steering wheel controls OR use the AUX setting to control the iPod via its own click wheel. When using the iPod direct connect feature, the name of the artist, song, time elapsed and time of day show up on the factory radio (but not when using the AUX setting). Scrolling through playlists/artists etc, is pretty fast when using the factory radio controls. Sound quality is PERFECT (depending, of course, on the quality of your digital music copy). The availability to add a second AUX port, HD or satellite radio or DVD console if i ever want to in the future. All products are not without flaws however. Here are some of the things that I wish could be better...
Con's:
When using the factory radio to control the iPod, there is no button to shuffle the songs. You either have to set this on the iPod before you plug it in, or unplug it every time you want to change the setting. When hitting skip to the next song using the factory radio or steering wheel controls, there is about a 2 second delay... and sometimes you have to hit the skip button again to get to the next song. The album of the song you are listening to is not displayed, other than in search modes. These are just minor inconveniences, but none the less are still annoying at times. In all honesty though, these cons do not even come close to outweighing the pros of this product. I am very happy with this purchase and considering it cost me about a 1/3 of the price of having an aftermarket stereo installed, what could be better?

45 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Ace

Fortwashingto Md

Overall
Isimple

June 19, 2012

I purchased the iSimple and it works pretty good for the most part. But after 2 month's for some reason I'm not able to control my song's, and also my volume from the vehicle. Other then that everything is ok.

44 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bruce

Batavia, IL

Overall
Better than Dice

March 28, 2011

I have had this 6 months now and am very happy with it. It was fairly easy to install and is easy to use. Steering wheel controls are supported, not only for my music library, but also for Pandora and Slacker apps.

My other car has a unit from Dice. The iSimple unit is much better than the Dice unit. The Dice unit is flaky, the radio and steering wheel controls do not work, and Dice customer service simply ignores you when to contact them for service.

42 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tsuboi

Hopkins, sc

Overall
Great product easy to install

May 23, 2012

Great product. This is the second unit I purchased the first one was for my truck and we liked it so much I purchased the second for my wife's car. The sound quality far surpasses the FM receiver style iPod adapter she use to use.

40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

A.P.

Leesburg, Fl

Overall
Real nice product

October 5, 2011

The isimple connects to the OEM stereo, which keeps it behind the dash. I like this clean installation, no extra pieces or wires all over the place.

40 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

batmobile

Bay St. Louis, MS

Overall
iSimple ISGM575 is well worth the money!

September 21, 2012

This device transforms your car's music system in a big way. Not only can you take your entire music library with you on the road, you can also listen to your favorite Pandora stations at any time. It's a musical experience every time you fire up! Can't imagine driving without my iSimple.

38 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Pat Bloom

Holly, MI

Overall
Not so great

January 6, 2012

First one failed and had to be replaced. Second one has sound quality issues.

38 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Ben

Kansas City, MO

Overall
Good Product

June 14, 2012

Installed this on my factory radio to run my iPod. Does everything as advertised, works well.

36 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

BIGG LUV

Woodridge, IL

Overall
Awesome Product

March 19, 2012

My buddy had gotten one and loved it and I wanted something to link my iPod up and use my steering wheel controls and it works awesome.

37 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bill

Orlando, FL

Overall
Great buy!

April 8, 2012

Bought this product so I could listen to music on my iPhone in a 2007 corvette. The installation was perfect and works perfecrly. I recommend anyone wanting to listen to their iPod or iPhone to invest in this.

35 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

James

Colorado Springs, CO

Overall
Great Product

October 11, 2011

Now that I have the iSimple installed, I will never be without one in any vehicle I own. The installation was pretty easy if you aren't afraid to get behind the dashboard of your vehicle. It has a couple of setup options on how to control your device either from your radio or from the device itself which I choose. I love having the nice clear sound that it produces unlike the FM transmitters I had been using for years. I would buy one again without hesitation.

32 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

what

somewhere, Ca

Overall
Great Product

February 24, 2013

I recommend this product to anyone who wants to use an apple product with their factory stereo head unit.

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

superkatz

Canada

Overall
Great product!

February 5, 2013

Awesome product! Love it and I've had no problems with it since I bought it.

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jade

Houston, TX

Overall
Review of iSimple Gateway ISGM575

November 29, 2015

Instructions were a bit vague for all of the stuff you need to get to the back of the head unit, but everything was easy to figure out, install, and use. Well marked out and separated cords. Good product, the headphone jack is a little weak though--no problems with it yet I just noticed it bends really easily though.

7 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Albert

Chandler, AZ

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great item

October 17, 2016

Easy to install works great it allows me to push music from my IPhone 6 thought my nav system in my hummer h3.

5 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Oleg

Russian Federation

Verified Purchase
Overall
Very good goods.

May 22, 2020

This easy-to-install adapter will suit those who don't want to break up with their favorite iPod.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Happy Listener

Canada

Overall
works good

June 26, 2016

this now gives me good sound and control for my iPod. I could not get the down load for the updating iPod firmware but it works great without it. easy to install, just plug in and go.

I am very happy with how well it works. I cannot rate the durability as I have only had the isgm575 for a few weeks.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

James

Eagan, Minnesota

Overall
Very Satisfied!

August 6, 2020

I order this to have an auxiliary import to the stock radio in my 2003 Silverado. Very satisfied and worked just as desribed. Plug & play didn't take long it install at all. Once install all I had to do was click the "Band" button on my stereo and it gave me to options either Aux 1 or Aux 2. I wasn't sure if this was going to work on my radio because in the description it says it runs through the xm port and I don't have xm. If your radio is xm ready you shouldn't have any issues or need to activate any xm ports.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Eric

Varnville, SC

Verified Purchase
Overall
It's okay...

March 7, 2016

The product is great for the fact that it does what it says it will do, simple install, however I recommend getting the Bluetooth add on, the auxiliary cable was working great since I only listen to iPod or MP3 player in the car, but then after 3 months the cable makes scratching noises while listing to music, lots of static, constantly having to play with the cable to get it to quit making noises, and as of today the auxiliary cable is no longer working, I ordered the Bluetooth add on and will install that today, I will do a review for that to see if it was worth it.
(2006 Chevy Tahoe Z-71 Bose/Onstar)

3 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?