Showing 18 reviews for Bazooka MBT1014

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
83%
4 Star
17%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
Dave

Georgetown, tx

Overall
Love it

November 16, 2011

This product is well designed and does a great job. I am highly impressed with the quality and the impact it made to my system. It's a great value considering the quality and price for performance.

60 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Kevin

Canada

Overall
Excellent!

October 11, 2011

I purchased this as a replacement for a traditional sealed box with a 10" sub that I am using on my pontoon boat. The Bazooka fit exactly where I wanted it to go and it sounds so much better that my old sub. The output level works well with the 6.5" Alpine 2 ways and 4 channel Alpine amp it is paired with. The overall quality and build construction meets my expectations. So far, I have no complaints.

Being from Canada, my overall purchase and shipping experience was excellent and I have made other purchase since this one.

57 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Fernando

Puerto Rico

Overall
Super Value!

February 20, 2014

Very good product and very happy with my selection.
Sonic has great prices and service.
Bought my Bazooka one month ago, for that reason my durability rating is average. Otherwise is a no brainer!

52 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Gene

Denver, NC

Overall
Pontoon's a bumping

July 10, 2014

Installed it in the console and it sounds great!! Paired it with two 6.5 JBL's and JBL amp. Very easy.

51 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Magic Mage

Seattle, WA

Overall
Wonderful waterproof Bad Ass Bass!

January 31, 2012

If your looking to add that missing thumping feeling at the bottom end of your current wimpy sound system, then this is it! The Bazooka MBT1014 and the rest of the Bazooka tubes series are all made out of a strong, waterproof and great sounding poly based body. Other subwoofer enclosures are just cheap carpet wrapped particle board. Particle board on a boat has no business being on board. Just a few drops of water or moisture in the air starts what always happens sooner or later, particle board enclosures start to swell, rot, mold and eventually crumble apart taking the speaker with it. The Bazooka MBT1014 enclosure has been an easy fit in many of the tight locations found in most boats. The bass enhancement is amazing when installed properly. The Bazooka bass tube line out performs other enclosures hands down. For getting that great sounding bottom end in your boat there really is no other product like the Bazooka brand line of bass tubes. I have been a mobile and marine electronics installer for over 25 years.

51 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jeremiah

West Palm Beach, FL

Overall
Sounds good!

September 10, 2012

Sounds good with low power! Not gonna blow those guys with the jl systems away but im running 1 channel bridged off a jbl ma6004 and sounds great with enough bump to do a little rattling.

49 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Steve

Arlington, VA

Overall
Awesome

March 24, 2013

Great sub - make sure you give it some power, it wants serious RMS power and it delivers. Have mine in a 39 foot SeaRay and it fills the cockpit with deep booms.

49 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Cory

Des Moines, IA

Overall
Not BAD

July 15, 2014

Honestly not what I expected to hear from these tubes. Very boomy due to thickness (or lack there of) of the tube itself. I put 1000 RMS PLUS to a pair of these and I dont think it hit 130db. Two 10" pioneer cheapys in a small 1.2 cu custom box hits disproportionately harder and just as deep.

Pros Light weight good for my boat....should do good enough firing into the hull.
Also looks like one escaped the box and got a chip...kinda sucks.

45 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

bogiesworld

st. germain, WI

Overall
worth every penny

January 19, 2011

This thing rocks! I replaced a custom box with one of those hot new mtx flat subs with this tube. I blows it away!!!!!

48 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

crownline 195ss

Charleston

Overall
Bazooka MBT104

November 7, 2013

Great sub for the money. Installed in my boat with 2 wetsound tower speakers and 6 kicker deck speakers and the system rocks

45 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Cartersville, GA

Overall
Simple and effective SUB

April 9, 2015

I own another model of this product and have it placed in my truck, this is what led me to purchase this item when adding a system to my boat. Bazooka makes it easy and simple to add an effective bass system to any mobile sound system not to mention simplifying installation and eliminating vehicle modification or damage trying to install other types of sub systems. Great sound and easy setup at a great price, what more could you ask for!

37 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

John

Seattle, Washington

Overall
Bazooka MBT1014

May 3, 2017

The Bazooka MBT1014 10" tube sounds great in my 18' runabout boat. I mounted it under the passenger side dash and tucked it up as high as possible in order to provide the maximum leg room underneath. I used both the nylon straps and mounts that came with the unit plus some white zip ties to attach it to the wooden/carpeted firewall, minimizing any potential movement. The lower third of the tube is visible from the side, and the speaker faces the left port side of the hull and bounces the bass back into the cabin area. The 8" version probably would have been a better fit in this particular application and not visible. However I opted for the 10" because of the nominal price difference over the 8" and because the 10" size is more common should I need to replace the speaker at a later date. I also opted for the MBT1014 because it's a passive speaker that requires an external amp. I did not want the version with the internal amp just in case the amp stopped working and needed to be replaced. I also believe the internal amp version uses a dual voice coil speaker at 2 ohms, and this MBT1014 comes with a single voice coil at 4 ohms - personal preference. I paired the MBT1014 with the Kenwood KAC-M3001 amp, also from Sonic Electronix. The amp is rated at 200 watts RMS x 1 at 4 ohms, but it's likely putting out more - search YouTube for the dyno test of the 4 channel version of this amp KAC-M3004 - really impressive. This is a great combination, and I would gladly do it again.

Both the speaker and the amp, both ordered separately from Sonic Electronix, arrived quickly and in great shape. Thanks Sonic Electronix.

On a separate note, I installed an inexpensive Boss marine MOV752WB.6 head unit with 240 watts RMS powering the four mid-range and high speakers with 60 watts RMS to each. I'm very happy with this entire setup.

4 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Scott

Knoxville Iowa

Overall
kick ass sound

July 7, 2020

My pontoon rules the lake now,1400 watts of power and an amazing bazooka sub. Would not all sound right without that sub! Excellent product!

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Southfield, MI

Verified Purchase
Overall
Excellent Sound with deep base

June 5, 2019

This is a passive bass tube that I hooked up to an amp on my system it really gave me the bottom end of sound that I was lacking. It can be used in any position. Cons, it is bulky hard to hide.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Swifty

Covington, Tn

Overall
Very nice!!!!!!

September 21, 2016

Preformed better than I expected. Was wanting a 12inch but I'm glad I got the 10.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

The great bambino

Chester ny

Overall
Just get it

August 9, 2016

Without going into detail I'm a audiophile. I have well over $10,000 in just electronics for my listing room and hundreds of hours tuning. so I know a bit. For the money this sub is great, really. I'm using a pair of these and a qsc concert amp for outdoor subwoofers. I find they (like all subs) like having a reflective surface to produce a wide sound. I cannot comment on them for a boat or other free air installation. However the sub as a whole has throughly impressed me.

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

William

Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Overall
Monster Bass!

June 3, 2016

I was looking for a solution to add bass to my 21' center console. I mounted this passive 10" bazooka tube on the floor inside my center console and connected to the sub output of a 5 channel amp. The bass is incredible and the white marine sub not only looks great but is also built to last. Overall amazing value and sound for the money.

2 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Billy

Orlando, FL

Overall
Great sound for the price!

March 24, 2020

I wanted to add some low end to the system on my boat. This subwoofer exceeded my expectations as far as sound! It bumps, but you definitely need to feed it adequate power (I'm using an Alpine amp, 300w RMS at 4 ohms).

My only complaint would be that the materials feel cheap. The enclosure, the rubber trim, the straps, etc. all feel like lower quality.

For the price point and the end result of sound, I'd say it's worth the money. Time will tell if it holds up, but this is the perfect solution if you want a bass that bumps in an affordable, easy to install package.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?