Showing 36 reviews for NVX MVPA1

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
86%
4 Star
8%
3 Star
3%
2 Star
3%
1 Star
0%
Each review gets you: $100 Store Gift Giveaway Entry $1 SonicBux Review this product
Steffan

Gray Court, SC

Verified Purchase
Overall
Incredible power in a small package

December 31, 2014

This amp is great it is extremely small definetly puts out 300 if not more. And does not get hot maybe a little warm but that's about it. The only complaint is the gloss finish it is easy to scratch other than that amazing.

102 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

James

Euless, TX

Overall
What a great product.

March 7, 2014

I bought this to power my JL Audio compact 10" woofer. I wanted a small amp so I could mount it under the dash. I also have an MVPA4 under my dash. They both fit and sound great. I have yet to get it warm. The gain is at about 3/4 now. I could not be happier. NVX should be commended.

102 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Edson

Houston tx

Verified Purchase
Overall
An absolute trip.

December 18, 2013

How an amp this small can power my comp rt 8" sub is crazy. the thing is as big or as small as the crossover on my kicker components. way to go nvx and thank u sonic for helping me choose it.

99 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

William

Elizabethtown, KY

Overall
amazed

December 21, 2013

I bought this to put in my wife's 06 Jeep Liberty to power an alpine type r 12 2 ohm in the back. I used 8 gauge wire and when i fired it up for the first time I was blown away, shocked, and happy all at the same time. I had to turn the subwoofer output all the way down on the cd player to make it manageable. I was able to mount it behind the center console on the transmission hump (under the ac controls) and only needed to run speaker wire to the back. Makes for a nice clean installation.
The only con is that the terminals are small. Its hard to find an 8 gauge terminal that will fit in the space provided and the price is kinda high for 300 watts.
Nonetheless, the clean installation (hidden amp) is perfect and the volume is every bit of 300 watts RMS.

97 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Feathermerchant

Euless, Tx

Overall
Great amplifier!

February 10, 2014

An amp should be small for it's output, sound great and not get hot. This one does all that. Its size allowed me to install it and an MVPA4 under my instrument panel (2011 F150). They power all of my speakers and my JL 10TW3-D4. Locating the amps in the instrument panel GREATLY simplifies my wiring.

99 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

John

Valencia, CA

Overall
Powers my sub just fine.

December 15, 2013

I felt compelled to write this review after reading the other one. I have it hooked up to the XQW104 wired at 2 ohms and it pushes 300W. I got it installed in Valencia with Allyn and he tested it with their amp dyno and it puts out every bit of 300W RMS. The sub sounds great, the amp is ridiculously tiny. To even get 100W RMS would be crazy and this thing pushes wayyyy more than that.

Oh and I'm NOT sure why you would use this on FULL-RANGE speakers anyways given it only has a LPF. Of course it will sound like a "tunnel" since you will not get any frequencies above 400Hz.

98 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Harada

FT W Texas

Overall
MVPA1

December 9, 2013

This product needs more power out put. It doesn't push enough power to get clear audio for 2 speakers. On a new pair of JL audio 6 inch speakers with the volume turned up to the max it sounds as if you are in a tunnel instead of a concert.

95 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Corey

Southaven, MS

Overall
Speechless

May 1, 2014

I have this amp paired with a NVX NSW124 along with all OFC NVX wiring kit and NVX bass reconstructor in a 2013 scion tc Release Series, and boy does she bang. I was told that I have two 12" inch subs and when I say I'm only running one 12 I was that if it is one sub it's at least one 18 inch. If you have limited space or are like me want to keep enough space In your cargo area to travel this is the ultimate set up! BTW if you are going to use the factory head unit like I did, although it has RCA outputs you will still need to get a line driver, it mad a night and day difference, I went with the Axxess AX-LDBK

88 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Rich

Machesney Park, Illinois

Overall
Great amp!

March 29, 2015

Installed it in my motorcycle to run subs only and it does a great job! Small size made it easy to mount without taking up too much storage space.

64 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Douglas

Hamilton, MI

Verified Purchase
Overall
Perfect size!

May 16, 2015

I installed this micro amp on my 6 1/2" micro sub box by jl audio in the back of my Jetta sportwagon. The size of the amp allowed me to mount it directly to the top of the ported box without covering the port. This outfit has more power than the sub runs on allowing my to operate without maximum settings and gives great definition to the low end harmonics within the passenger compartment. I recommend considering this amp if your needs include quality sound without compromising room. Great for trucks and wagons. A remote bass boost knob is the only feature this amp is missing.

44 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

A.C.

Yuba City, CA

Verified Purchase
Overall
Small size, really big power!

June 14, 2015

Bought this little amp cause space was a big issue, did a lot of research and made my mind up on getting this one. It never gets hot and a very clear signal, right now I have it powering a ported JL W3 6.5" turned down and friends think I have a 12" in my truck and are blown away with my setup.

34 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

CPS

Austin Texas

Overall
Nice small amp

June 18, 2015

Seems to be working great, very compact, it needed to fit in a very small area, this was the only one I found that would fit.

33 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jbeach

Irvine, CA

Overall
Perfect Amp

September 19, 2015

I was looking for an amp that was small, but could provide enough clean power to run 2 JL Audio 10 inch subs when I ran across this unit. At first I was a little apprehensive, but I figured what do I have to lose. When it arrived I was amazed at how small it really was. Took me about 45 mins to install since I already had all the wiring run prior to receiving it. From the moment I turned it on I was amazed at how much power it provided. Not just power, but clean efficient power. Well worth the money spent and in fact I purchased the 4 channel amp to power my mids and highs. I was equally impressed with that amp as well. I definitely recommend these amps to anyone looking for a compact amp with plenty of power.

Oh and to the person that said this amp "Sounded like he was in tunnel instead of a concert", why in the hell would you hook a mono amp to a pair of speakers? Common sense should tell you that's not correct.

8 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Justin

Muskegon, MI

Overall
Awesome Amp

October 6, 2015

I have this paired with a now discontinued NVX 10" 3" magnet sub that takes 500W RMS and it delivers. It hits just like my 12" NVX I have in another car and it is clear.
Amp allows plenty of adjustibility and everything you can ask from an amp.
Plus it is so small!
My only complaint is the face of it looked scratched and used already.

7 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

kingman, AZ

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great deal and awesome product

December 24, 2018

This little amp may seem small but it has awesome power, would recommend to any one that has little space to work with . ..

1 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Bothell, WA

Verified Purchase
Overall
NVX MVPS1 WOW

October 2, 2018

I just finished my install this past Saturday and I have this little amplifier pushing my MB Quart
DISCUS DS1-204 8”shallow subwoofer wired at
2 ohm’s and it hits very hard I had to lower the gain all the way down this amplifier is worth every penny and without a doubt will buy again very satisfied
- Fred

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Terre Haute, IN

Overall
Under rated contender

September 5, 2018

Installed this behind the screen of a 16’ cherokee trailhawk hooked up to a sundown sa-8 v.3 in a ported box. Unbelievable how much this puts out! Has been in the dash for 2yrs running great and have since tried different subs, all of which the tiny guy had no issues pushing. Highly recommended!!

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Akron, Ohio

Overall
Great Value, Same as Focal FD 1.350 for 1/3 the price

July 30, 2018

I suspect that this item is the same OEM as the Focal FD 1.350 amp that you can buy at crutchfield for a lot more. The fuses, pots, and inputs are in the exact same locations and look the same. Save a ton and get this one instead.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Ryan A

Bellevue WA

Overall
Exceptional Small Amp

March 29, 2018

Powering a 2 ohm 8” sub. Tons of power. Easy to configure. I really can’t believe how small it is. Very easy to conceal.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

steven

COLUMBUS, OH

Verified Purchase
Overall
Not a bad little amp.

January 3, 2018

Although this is a very little amp it make some very big power. It seems to run very cool and can be mounted just about anywhere. I have it powering just a single dual voice coil 12 and it does the job very well. No complaints so far. I like the adjustments available on the amp. You usually don't get a bass boost adjustment on larger amps.

The only problem with this amp is maybe the terminals are all very small. Although this is to be expected, it should be mentioned because you will have to make some accommodations for this when hooking up large power and ground wires to it.

Overall though I'm very happy with the amp and would recommend it if mounting size is a concern n your install.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Bradley

Morrow, OH

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great Little Amp

October 23, 2017

I have a compact car and did not have a lot of room for a big amp. This amp fit perfectly under my dash. Sound is great also. I would definitely recommend this amp.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

New York

Kansas City

Verified Purchase
Overall
New York

July 29, 2017

Purchased two of these for my Street Glide to run two shallow dual 4ohm 8 inch subs wired to 2 ohms a piece. Powers them at 476 RMS in the saddlebags and they sound great. Small enough to hide in the saddlebags but very powerful.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jeffrey

Zanesville, OH

Verified Purchase
Overall
awesome tiny amp

June 17, 2017

it has all the power it claims + and can do 2 ohms it doesnt seem to get even warm let alone hot like a traditional amp I was worried about noise but it sounds much better/clearer than the rockford fosgate I was using However when turned off there is some 'white noise and the occasional low pop' can live with that because I didnt think I could find a better amp than what I had but so far I have been quite impressed!
Durability is simply IDK havent had it long enough.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Josh

Millville, New Jersey

Overall
Only Specific for those who want it. Still one heck of a little amp!

April 2, 2017

Now, Before I start, it is just my opinion and mine alone.

The pa1, where to begin. I was unsure of this little beast of an amp when I first ordered it. Saw some test videos and really liked what i saw/heard. Waited for it to come in, shipping was fast. . . and it was heavy. Quality right there. I opened the box and checked the unit. It was in its plastic bags and everything was there. Good, I pulled the plastic bag off the amp and checked it. I was not happy about its first appearance, It had Light scratches everywhere and the protective plastic was off the unit. I pulled the protective clip that covered the wire screwdowns and two were missing from the speaker connections. They were sitting in the bag. Everything else was fine. The Books, screws, wires, and connectors look as they were never used. Just the amp.

Installation was a breeze, as all Amp installs I do. That was until I connected the High Amp connector. Clipped right in but moving the wires around, the connector comes right out of the socket. The Female 4 pin connecter's tab that the male end clips to was broken off. Great.

Ok, So when I said that it is specific for those who want it. It was in my case. I drive a 2003 Forester XT with the Stock, Premium sound. 2x Components, 2x Two ways, and a stock 6x9 mid-woofer. I wanted nothing changed to the stock system save for adding an aftermarket sub to "Enhance" the abysmal 70 watt mid-woofer. Connections were easy, Tap into the mid-woofer wire and run to the amp's High connection. Done and done.

Now here is the killer part folks. I Started the car, lowered the bass on the head unit to +2 - +3 and started to tune the amp. PROBLEM! Every time the subwoofer hit a heavy note or "Burped" It sent static through the whole Radio. No matter how clear the station was, CD used, or AUX selected. Added Ferrites To the Power wire. Somewhat clearer, Added to Remote, clearer, added to High imputs, Clearer but not enough. So keeping the setting where the amp was set, It slowly started to go away. Two weeks in, It was gone. That made me happy so i turned the power up on the amp. It came back within the hour.

Amp has to stay at 40% power with the boost at 6db+. Turning it up higher caused the static to come back. I do not know if it is the amplifier causing the problem but a test with an old walmart 600watt sparkler amp worked fine with the same connection setup.

I have tried Noise Isolators, Removing the LED headlamps{also cause alot of static in radio until Electrolytic resistors were installed}, Moving Ground, Positive, and remote and still got the same issues. It is currently in use still but the issue is not resolved.

Once again, as stated. It is my experience and my opinion with this amp. Many people LOVE this amp because it has more power than what is stated. Almost 35% more in fact. And the sheer size alone blows people away because of its power. It is just that there has to be a "Clean" install for this product to work competently. A stock setup will introduce too much interferance because of aged components and because of that, it should be recommended that you, again, do a clean install or use it to upgrade a stock Amp only in the newer cars.

But This here is the final nail in the coffin for me on the amp, The price. It IS cheap for the technology and sheer size but for someone like me who wanted a cheap alternative to keeping a stock clean system. The Underseat Powered subwoofers are by far more bang for your buck. Take the SSL all in one unit. 126$ for 1200 watt amp and 10inch shallow or the 8inch 600 watt unit for 95$. . . you know, for comparison.

Stay classy everyone and get your "Thump" on.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Juan

Montana

Overall
Good Amp

March 16, 2017

I would recommend for the size and price, the only complaint is the power and amp terminals a very small and would be better if they were bigger

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Randy

Cottontown, TN

Verified Purchase
Overall
Tiny size that packs a punch!

December 30, 2016

I was calling to order an Alpine amp and was worried about the size. I wanted to power one 12" sub but wanted to hide the amp. I was led to this amp by my product specialist, he has one in his car. I installed this for my son on Christmas Day and it seems to be working well. It is powering an Infinity 12" sub in a factory ported enclosure.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

jason

greenville, TX

Overall
great value

December 12, 2016

great amp small and compact a lot of boom for a small price

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Devon

Bronx, New York

Overall
EXCELLENT pRODUCT

September 4, 2016

IT WAS THE RIGHT TYPE OF MINI AMP FOR ME AND WHERE I NEEDED TO PUT IT ESPECIALLY WITH THE POWER THAT IT PUTS OUT!

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jeromy

Dodge City, KS

Verified Purchase
Overall
Decent power in a little package...

August 3, 2016

First and foremost, ordering was bit easier than other products I've ordered from Sonic Electronix in the past. That being said, onto the product.

The size versus output ratio associated with this amplifier is outstanding. I used the NVX MVPA1 to replace my MTX TNA251 amplifier. It is currently powering my 2 12' MTX terminator subwoofers at 2ohms.

Given the size of this amplifier, it can be mounted virtually anywhere. I elected to mount mine on the underside of my trunk deck.

The only negative I can find with this amplifier, because it is so small, there is limited space for wiring. I elected t use terminals to connect my wiring to my amplifier. 8ga. Terminals are far to large to be properly installed with the receptacle on the amplifier.

Given the phase, gain, and frequency, as well as bass boost (wasn't used) adjustments, tuning the amplifier is a piece of cake.

I would strongly suggest this amplifier to someone who needs an affordable amp, with great output for it's size.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

David

Kenya

Overall
Great little amp!

July 9, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by this amp... pumps a lot of power, and doesn't get hot while doing it.
does all it says and then some... am actually thinking of getting its partner the 4 channel one.
its so small you can fit four or even six of them under the passenger seat

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Justin

Twin Lake, MI

Verified Purchase
Overall
The little amp that could

June 29, 2016

This is a great amp when you want plenty of power, but don't want to take up a bunch of space to get it.
I have it powering my 500W RMS NVX XQW104 and it absolutely works great.
The adjustments are standard and work well, the versatility in inputs is great between the RCA's or speaker wires.

This thing is a small beast and it fits perfectly just about anywhere.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Daryl

Houston, TX

Verified Purchase
Overall
Surprising little amp.

June 29, 2016

I have this amp in the back of a 2000 Corvette. I like to maximize my space, and not have amps and subs intruding into cargo areas. So between this amp, a stealth box, and a JL sub. I have a nice tucked away package.

This amp hid quite well. I will say on my head unit (XDC-500, (not the 599)), I have to turn the Sub gain all the way up, but from there the amp blends and plays wonderfully. I can turn my system up to the point it hurts, and the little amp is still just pounding away. I have gone away from the "trying to induce bowel movements with bass" days of a my youth, and now just want the music to sound well rounded, and this fits the bill perfectly. Good thump, but I wouldnt recommend to those still trying to let everyone on the block know they've got a system.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tom

Miami, Fl

Overall
Awesome Compact Amp!

June 26, 2016

Bought this when replacing the factory sub/amp in my 2012 Escape. This fit right in place of the factory amp. Its pushing a 8" shallow mount Pioneer sub with 4ohm impedence in the factory plastic box. This puts out some serious power, I only have the gained turned up about halfway and the sub thumps. Would probably hit even harder with a 2ohm impedence. I was skeptical due to its size, but its awesome. Great power, great value especially if you're short on space.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Zero Fox

Pheonix,Arizona

Overall
Rocking little amp

April 14, 2016

Sits nicely under the dash of my jeep and powers myn8 inch sub perfectly

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

Tim

Bellevue, NE

Verified Purchase
Overall
Great amp.

March 23, 2016

Had issues with a different amp ( not purchased here ) that was the wrong application. After talking to John my salesman briefly ,he suggested a winning combination. This amp was part of it. Its a great motorcycle amp and look forward to many happy listening miles. Thanks again.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?

ERICA R.

Cordova, TN

Overall
great product

January 20, 2016

This product is very small, but has a big sound. Very impressive for such a small device.

0 found this helpful

Was this review helpful?